• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Can I tag and lockout radio IDs on my XT ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 6, 2007
Messages
252
Location
SOUTH BEND IN.
#1
My local State Police now share the same dispatch talk group number with the toll road and thats a lot of traffic. Can you tag the numbers and lock them out so you can hear one or the other on the XT or any other scanner ? Thanks
 

KE4ZNR

KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Messages
7,069
Location
Raleigh, NC
#2
My local State Police now share the same dispatch talk group number with the toll road and thats a lot of traffic. Can you tag the numbers and lock them out so you can hear one or the other on the XT or any other scanner ? Thanks
Nope. Sorry.
Marshall KE4ZNR
 

KE4ZNR

KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Messages
7,069
Location
Raleigh, NC
#6
How does one tag a unit id on the 396XT? I thought this only was a feature of the HP-1
From the XT firmware update page:

If you program a Unit ID into a channel, you can assign an Alpha to the Unit ID. You program a Unit ID just like an iCall ID (press ./no then the Unit ID).
So just program the UID into a memory slot then alphtag it like you would a TGID. I usually create a group in the system just for UIDs that way I can keep track of them separately from the TGIDs.
Marshall KE4ZNR
 

KE4ZNR

KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Messages
7,069
Location
Raleigh, NC
#8
Sweet! Thanks!! Works on my 15X also.. this will defiantly give me more of a reason to log UID now :)
Yeah. All of the UIDs that I have stored into memory in my 396XT/996XT/HP-1 have
alphatags. Makes life so much easier.
Marshall KE4ZNR
 

W4TF

Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
173
Location
FL
#9
Marshall (or anyone else for that matter... :) ),

Could you give me further direction on how to program a UID? I only see the option of programming TGIDs. I am using the current firmware. I am trying to insert UID "60690" into one of my groups with PD dispatch, so that when this particular radio is keyed up I will see it marked "radio X" and hopefully even allow me to set an alert to the radio
 

W4TF

Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
173
Location
FL
#10
nevermind - Chris from another post, listed the instructions as -

Program System
"chose system"
edit group
"Chose group"
Edit channel
New channel: Press ".no" (an "i" should show up)than enter the Unit id
Press yes
edit name
add alpha tag

Works perfectly!
 

W4TF

Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
173
Location
FL
#11
Well, looks like I spoke too soon... The uid does link to the alpha tag and display the alpha tag assigned to it, but the biggest reason I wanted this to work was so that I could set an alert with the alpha tag. I set it up to flash the screen as well as an audible alert, however none are activated. Is it not possible?
 

W4TF

Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
173
Location
FL
#13
yeah, unfortunately, you are correct. I did a LOT of reading on here today about the subject just to learn that this feature does not support alerts linked to RIDs, only for TGIDs.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2007
Messages
187
Location
Mobile AL
#14
Hmmm....

I've been locking out RID's on my 396xt for the past 2 years. <grin>

I have not assigned an Alpha tag to the RID's I want to lock out..

In my case I just press the L/O button whenever an unwanted RID appears.

Another way to do it is to place the RID in a GROUP that is locked out.

Works for me.

Wayne...
 

KE4ZNR

KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Messages
7,069
Location
Raleigh, NC
#16
As was said above you cannot lock out specific RIDs/UIDs from showing up in normal conversation. You may believe that you are locking out UIDs/RIDs but I can assure you that is not the case.
Marshall KE4ZNR


Hmmm....

I've been locking out RID's on my 396xt for the past 2 years. <grin>

I have not assigned an Alpha tag to the RID's I want to lock out..

In my case I just press the L/O button whenever an unwanted RID appears.

Another way to do it is to place the RID in a GROUP that is locked out.

Works for me.

Wayne...
 

KE4ZNR

KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Messages
7,069
Location
Raleigh, NC
#17
yeah, unfortunately, you are correct. I did a LOT of reading on here today about the subject just to learn that this feature does not support alerts linked to RIDs, only for TGIDs.
That is correct. :)
Alerts only work with TGIDs not UIDs/RIDs.
Marshall KE4ZNR
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2007
Messages
187
Location
Mobile AL
#18
ok ok ok...

I went and got my scanner and took a look.

What I have been doing is locking out the RID while they are in private/direct communication with another unit. On a local county EDACS system the county maintenace vehicles are plentiful and they like to talk to each other directly. Since I don't want to hear them I've been hitting the L/O button and viola, they are gone. I also have their talkgroup in a group that is locked out. I usually don't turn them on unless it's bad weather.

So yup. Other than putting an Alpha Tag on an RID neither the scanner or the software you use can make use of the RID.

Wayne...
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2003
Messages
2,812
Location
ILL
#19
Sounds like your L/O "ICALLS" not RID's which are impossible to L/O unless you turn "OFF" the feature in the menu....My local county road gang use "ICALLS" ex: i166066 all the time, sometimes very interesting!....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top