Can someone explain how I send packets using a TNC?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alligator24

I have two Kenwood TH-D72A HTs that I'd like to try using with packet data. I understand I can plug them into a computer (both computers will be running Windows 8.1) using the supplied USB cable, but I don't know how to send data between them. I'm hoping someone here can give me the basics.

In the manual, there are a lot of commands I can use, but I'm guessing someone has simplified these into some software. Is there some sort of specialized software that does this automatically?

What can I send from one computer to another? Just text, or can I send simple images too?

I'm completely new to TNCs, but I'd like to learn. Thanks!

n0nhp

Basic would be use a communications application (Google "windows communications software") and send text messages. Again Google is your friend "packet radio software" will find you many programs that will send text and images. Beware 1200 baud packet is slow, I think the only time I played with sending an image it took almost all night to get through.
Have fun
Bruce

AK9R

Lead Wiki Manager and almost an Awesome Moderator
Super Moderator
You need what is known as terminal emulation program. Windows used to come with HyperTerminal, but Microsoft stopped bundling it with Windows at Win7, I believe. You can still find HyperTerminal on the web. There are others that you might want to try. I use one called TeraTerm.

Assuming that you have your D72 connected to your computer and assuming that the D72 serial port driver has been loaded, you'll need to look at the Windows Device Manager to see what COM port the driver is using. Once you know the COM port number, you can configure your terminal emulation program to use that COM port at 9600 baud 8-N-1.