cdm 1550 ls+

rich1125

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
58
#1
im looking to buy a cdm 1550 ls+ but not sure how many conventional channels it has some say 16 others say 160 model number is AAM25KKF9DP6AN , also states that it will not encode or decode radio id in non trunking mode , am i better off with a cdn 1250 im new to this .
 

rich1125

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
58
#3
david

i was reading that it will only do 16 conventional is that true im new to this just wondering is someone posting wrong info on sites , i need 45 conventional channels with mdc encode and decode if i can do that i will buy but i need help , thank you .
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2005
Messages
9,716
Location
WTVLCA01DS0
#5
i was reading that it will only do 16 conventional is that true im new to this just wondering is someone posting wrong info on sites , i need 45 conventional channels with mdc encode and decode if i can do that i will buy but i need help , thank you .
The trunking models will only do 16 conventional channels.
The non-trunking models will do more. How many depends on the exact model.

Be cautious on e-Bay. Some sellers will try to hide the fact that they are trunking radios.
There also is someone on e-bay that offers a service converting trunking radios to non-trunking radios, giving you more than 16 conventional channels.

Non-trunking models will do MDC.

Don't overlook the CDM-1250's, which will do 64 channels.

As always, Batwing Laboratories is a great source of information.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2017
Messages
443
#7
The model with the "6AN" model number has 160 conventional channels and can encode and decode MDC. If it is only a "5AN' you get 16 conventional channels and I think some have MDC and some don't.
 

bumby

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
31
#9
CDM 1550 ls+

I just programmed one a couple days ago, and one thing to note is that while there are various model # versions with X amount of channels that can be programmed, you can only create scan lists with 16 memories or channels to scan. You can have several scan lists, but can only scan 16 channels at a time.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2017
Messages
443
#10
I just programmed one a couple days ago, and one thing to note is that while there are various model # versions with X amount of channels that can be programmed, you can only create scan lists with 16 memories or channels to scan. You can have several scan lists, but can only scan 16 channels at a time.
I think that's on all Moto radio's regardless of the LTR trunking or not. I think the XPR7550 and APX might be different scan list wise but maybe someone else can confirm that.
 

Skypilot007

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
2,086
Location
Medford, NJ
#11
XPR will only do 15+1 as usual, the APX is 50 channels I think. Not sure, never had a need to max it out but it will do more than the standard 15+1.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2013
Messages
3,201
Location
Texas
#12
I think that's on all Moto radio's regardless of the LTR trunking or not. I think the XPR7550 and APX might be different scan list wise but maybe someone else can confirm that.
I seem to remember something about the Syntor X9000 being able to handle 64 channels or more in it's scan list but that's a derelict of a radio these days.

XPR will only do 15+1 as usual, the APX is 50 channels I think. Not sure, never had a need to max it out but it will do more than the standard 15+1.
But does that hold true for trunking as well? All of the APX SU's I've dealt with were built off of Astro 25 templates and as a result held the 10 talk group scan limit in them.
 
Top