• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Change Flash Code by swapping hardware?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KK4LQX

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 1, 2012
Messages
100
Location
Portsmouth, RI
#1
Hello All,

I have an ASTRO Spectra UHF that I need to change the flash code on. I have several VHF radios that I don't care about that have the proper flash code. Is it possible to change the flash code by swapping hardware WITHOUT changing the band of the radio?

I don't imagine it is but if it is I know someone here will know.

Thanks in advance!
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
396
Location
New York, NY
#2
No. You'd need to change the programmed band in the codeplug for the swap to work. And if you have the tools to do that, you wouldn't be swapping controllers in the first place.
 

KK4LQX

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 1, 2012
Messages
100
Location
Portsmouth, RI
#3
Why thank you for your amazing response! If I had the tools to change the flash code I wouldn't have asked the question. Just hoping for some back door thing that that one guy knows
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
48
#4
On a different forum, you may find the tools, but not here as flashcodes = features = things you pay Motorola for. A few words of note, depending on what your changing in the flashcode you might need to upgrade the radio, for example if you have Analog Only and want to use P25 digital, you need to change the flashcode, then upgrade the firmware, as by default Analog Only radios have the analog only DSP code.

Swapping boards gets you into the realm where finding the tool alluded to above would just be easier.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
396
Location
New York, NY
#6
Encryption modules should be swappable, assuming they are compatible with the target radio (i.e. I don't think you can put a MCS encryption module in a XTL or Spectra, etc). However IIRC, the keys will have to be reloaded after you swap the module.
 

KK4LQX

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 1, 2012
Messages
100
Location
Portsmouth, RI
#7
Ok that's awesome! Thanks for the info. It'll be no issue at all to load the codes. Right now I have a UHF radio that's missing one form of encryption and 2 VHF radios that are spares that have all of them. Both are ASTRO Spectras so it should literally be a quick swap.
 

KK4LQX

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 1, 2012
Messages
100
Location
Portsmouth, RI
#8
Do you guys know what version on Firmware started support for OTAR?

Currently the radio i'm working on has Firmware 11.13.00.00 and DSP Software: N08.02.08

Also what is the latest (or last since I think they've been End-of-Lifed) Version on Firmware released for the ASTRO Spectras?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top