• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Commonwealth Edison

Status
Not open for further replies.

kc4400

Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Messages
6
I just downloaded some of the ComEd frequencies to my Pro-97. So far nothing has come through (have been along 55 from Joliet to Chicago). I am going to take a look at how I downloaded them (user error has been an issue in the past). Question is is it worth my trouble, or is there not that much traffic to bother troubleshooting.

If you have them working, I would be interested in what I might have done wrong.

Thanks
 

hdesign

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2005
Messages
18
I've noticed the same thing on Pro-96/97 in lake county and I have yet to hear a thing. I thought it was me.
 

N9JIG

Sheriff
Moderator
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Messages
3,936
Location
Far NW Valley
While the Comm Ed 900 MHz. system was at one time extremely busy and interesting much of the traffic on it has switched over to Nextel.

I have read in some forum very recently (Sorry, I can't remember which...) that they were looking to sell it to an SMR operator. This would seem to make sense, but I haven't seen anything official on it.
 

kevino

Database Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
375
Location
Chicagoland
If you have not done so already, check out the ComEd info at http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=2927 . Be sure that you program the freqs for the "zone" (system) that covers the area that you're in. Make sure that one of the freqs you enter is carrying a control channel signal that you can reliably hear. As a rule, there isn't nearly as much traffic on the system when skys are blue as there is during heavy storms. I live in east central DuPage County and can confirm that the "Triad" system is currently on the air. The skys are clear right now..... within the last half hour, I've heard a 3-4 transmissions on the Maywood and Glenbard OD (operating dispatch) talkgroups - but that's about it.
 
Last edited:

RoninJoliet

Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2003
Messages
2,817
Location
ILL
I have ComEd Site 4-Orland Pk =CC-939.6875 in all my scanners here in Joliet...Its very busy when as Kevin mentioned stormy times...Its great when the lights "flicker' , there rite on with info from the "load dispatcher" on who and where someone took down a utility pole....I hear Joliet, BBrook, UnPark, Maywood...The signal using a RS 800 rubber duck is very good...Here in Joliet the load dispatcher ID is 33648...
 

Chicago2210

Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2009
Messages
168
Location
Chicago
How do you program a smart zone into a scanner? I just put it in as a motoerolo type 2 system, should I have done that or put it in as a LT? Also when dose the "Triad" system get busey? Please let me know thank you.
 

N9JIG

Sheriff
Moderator
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Messages
3,936
Location
Far NW Valley
How do you program a smart zone into a scanner? I just put it in as a motoerolo type 2 system, should I have done that or put it in as a LT? Also when dose the "Triad" system get busey? Please let me know thank you.
If you have a Site capable scanner, like the BCD996T, BCD396XT, BCD996XT, BC15, BC15X, or BC346XT then you can enter a System and then individual Sites, just like you would for StarCom21 except the System Type would be Motorola Type II.

If you have an older trunktracker or GRE/RS scanner then you can enter each SmartZone site into a separate Bank.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top