• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

brian943

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 23, 2008
Messages
63
Location
Salem, CT
[QUOTE="brian943,
Wish someone would post their config file, thats all
I use proscan .. if that is what people are using I’ll post mine.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk [/QUOTE]

My question concerns system type, and control channels. Is the DB correct on those? I'd really like to look at your setup, Proscan - yes
 

norwichfeeder

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2018
Messages
12
Location
Norwich, CT
I’d have to guess ... reprograming needs to occur as long as the scanner can do the new phase 2 p25 system. Might be why it isn’t working, someone might want to reach out to the host.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yeah I am that host. I just shut the feed down. Maybe someone else will put a new feed online. I don't have the money for a phase 2 p25 radio. Oh well.

Good luck
 

awasser1

Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2004
Messages
387
Location
Bloomfield, CT
Yeah I am that host. I just shut the feed down. Maybe someone else will put a new feed online. I don't have the money for a phase 2 p25 radio. Oh well.

Good luck
i', experimenting with an rtl-sdr dongle on my raspberry pi $30. had the pi. if it works decently i will put mine back on with this method. i cant afford a new radio either
 

darkness975

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
381
As an update to this, the frequency that was listed above by @WoodburyMan does work. So regarding the other troops and systems, looks like it's just a matter of finding the right channels and then incorporating them into the database.

Since I created a favorites list with that frequency I am getting troop L, B, and H, the way I was before. Definitely a positive development.

Hopefully the other troops come soon.
 

darkness975

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 4, 2016
Messages
381
looks like a lot of the frequencies have been reassigned. I Incorporated the control channel that someone provided into a custom favorites list and now I am picking up Troop B, H, L, and DEEP the way I was before.

So hopefully it's just a matter of time for the other channels to be found.
 

stephankramer

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2018
Messages
101
Location
Bristol
I am on the AVON or Hartford site now and it's fairly active. Moderate chatter from Police and as always Transportation. Like any transition it will take a bit of time to iron out. I just kept hearing about the switch and then nothing would happen I was beginning to think it would never happen. Now I have to buy my mother in law a new scanner.
 

heh1994

Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2010
Messages
14
I Live in the greater hartford area and am picking it up with a strong signal on my BCD325P2. I am going to try it in my car later today.
 

WoodburyMan

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 9, 2017
Messages
147
Location
Woodbury, CT
I tried the channels for B from the old system and none worked so far. Good things will come.

Alec
N1AJW
I don't hear Troop B on the new system either.
It's possible they are just using Troop L frequencies as control channels and reusing B frequencies for extra audio channels maybe? Given how close B and L are, and the hilly terrain, they may have lumped them together.
I am picking up all of Troop B's traffic (In addition to L and a few other things like Marshals and DEEP) on the 859.7625MHz control channel. Try seeing if you can hear that up in your area?
 

oldtimeradio

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
91
Location
Stafford Springs, CT
OK..... I got my SDS200 working on Troop,,,,, Spoke to soon.
Reprogrammed, erased everything in radio before I reprogrammed,. Unless there is a problem with the RR Database.
Still no Troop C
Database Troop C Simulcast
Troop D, H, and K are OK.
That is BCD996P2 and SDS200 scanners.
 
Last edited:

SVFC462

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
164
Location
Connecticut
15-20 minutes ago I heard Troop I broadcast the pediatric pedestrian struck in New Haven .. loud and clear from Bloomfield


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Top