• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

SDS100: Database problem

Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
3,556
Location
Washington Pennsylvania
#21
Had a the last version of sentinel on another pc with a June database . Cleared user data and uploaded it to the scanner and all systems were included. Went to update database was like usual was prompted to download new version of sentinel did that updated the database which is now 1/20/19 instead of 1/27. Same result no conventional systems being scanned.
 

Bmacs

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 14, 2009
Messages
73
Location
Southern NH
#26
Unable to duplicate. What service types are enabled? What is the date of the database in the scanner?
I did a database update yesterday - As noted above - all the trunked systems scan - NO conventional.

I see the new sentinel version now...I'll give it a try
 

bwigen

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 1, 2007
Messages
11
Location
Southern Oregon
#29
I am also having a similar issue. My BCD436HP has been working fine until today. I downloaded and installed two new versions of Sentinel (2.01.01 and 2.01.02), and updated the current database (I show 1/20/2019 which is strange because that's over a week old) this morning, like I do every Monday. I have location set via zip code, database enabled with all services on... Full database only nets an error "nothing to scan". When I enable a favorite list, it scans that just fine. Possible that something happened with latest Sentinel build??
 

ac9f

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
57
Location
Iola, WI
#30
Neither of the reports of this provide enough detail to determine anything. What specific zip code? What specific system(s) are missing from the scan? Any other specific details could be helpful in determining what changes occurred.
My zipcode is 54945, I am missing all the conventional systems and the only one that comes up is the truncked Wisconsin Interoperability System. I have done everything that people have said to try. Pulling my hair out.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2003
Messages
3,556
Location
Washington Pennsylvania
#36
Seems like they pulled the 1/27 update, until they figure out what went wrong. I have 1/20 and it says its current.
Yes that is what it seems and it did the same thing the 1/27 was doing. It is a minor inconvenience to me as I use mostly favorites lists but like to run thru the full database twice a month or so.
 

bwigen

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 1, 2007
Messages
11
Location
Southern Oregon
#37
Seems like they pulled the 1/27 update, until they figure out what went wrong. I have 1/20 and it says its current.
Have you updated Sentinel to 12.01.01 or 12.01.02, and still running the 1/20 database? I think that the Sentinel update is what made mine unusable.
 

u2brent

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 17, 2010
Messages
1,133
Location
KRWDPAXKRS1
#38
Have you updated Sentinel to 12.01.01 or 12.01.02, and still running the 1/20 database? I think that the Sentinel update is what made mine unusable.
Using 12.01.02 with 1/20 database. It is my theory that those that woke up early, got a 1/27 that was later pulled, And now 1/20 is the currently available DB version. I do not use location control nor the full DB for scanning. Only my FL's, So I so No problems that others reported.. :) If I try to update It says it's current.
 

bwigen

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 1, 2007
Messages
11
Location
Southern Oregon
#39
Using 12.01.02 with 1/20 database. It is my theory that those that woke up early, got a 1/27 that was later pulled, And now 1/20 is the currently available DB version. I do not use location control nor the full DB for scanning. Only my FL's, So I so No problems that others reported.. :) If I try to update It says it's current.
Have you tried enabling the full database and disabling your fl’s to see if you can still scan? Just curious.
 
Top