• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

deleting custom searches on the BCD996xt

Status
Not open for further replies.

firedog10

Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
17
Hi all,
I have two custom searches that I would like to delete.
They are showing up when the unit is in scan mode.
I have looked through the manual and also I have done a search on the internet with no answers.
Can anybody help me?
In the old days we would just lock out the channels out, but I guess no more!
Thank you,
Nick
 

MarkWestin

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
658
Location
Caribou, Maine
You still just lock the channels out, but you do it a little differently. While the undesired custom search is showing on the screen, press "HOLD" then "E/yes" then "L/O" (once to temporarily lock out until you power cycle) or (twice to permanently lock out) the search range.

Mark
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,287
Location
Arlington, TX
To lock out the entire searches (not just frequencies) press F+L/O, L/O while on that search.
 

cg

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 13, 2000
Messages
3,001
Location
Connecticut
If you use software to program the scanner, you can assign a Quick Key to the Custom Search ranges as well as Service Searches. They can then be turned on and off like any other System.
I don't know why Uniden did not include a keyboard menu item for a Quick Key setting for these searches.

chris
 

firedog10

Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2013
Messages
17
Thank you

Thank you for the help.
I hope I can do the same for someone else, soon.
Nick
 

SB-Wi

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
296
Location
Eastern Dane Co
Thanks for the response, what does the "F" Stand for?
Function, which is accessed by pressing the control knob.

You can also lock out the searches in the programming software so they don't reset after uploading to the scanner.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top