• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Dipole on roof

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
65
#1
I just made a fan dipole with 40m and 20m. I am totally out of options other than put it on top of the roof, but I’ve read not to let the wires touch directly on the roof. What does Home Depot or Lowe’s offer as some type of insulator that I can put between the roof and wires. And if anyone has done this was it descent?
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Messages
7,289
Location
So Cal - Richardson, TX - Tewksbury, MA
#2
If the wire is insulated there is really nothing else you could add to improve things. Even with bare wire on a typical asphalt shingle roof is probably not a big difference between insulated and bare wire. Besides the antenna being close to internal house wiring, air conditioning ducting, etc, when it rains the roof will change properties for the worst for antennas.

I just made a fan dipole with 40m and 20m. I am totally out of options other than put it on top of the roof, but I’ve read not to let the wires touch directly on the roof. What does Home Depot or Lowe’s offer as some type of insulator that I can put between the roof and wires. And if anyone has done this was it descent?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2015
Messages
766
Location
Severn, Maryland, USA
#3
<snip> I am totally out of options other than put it on top of the roof, but I&#8217;ve read not to let the wires touch directly on the roof. <snip>
Do you mean having the whole fan dipole lay on the roof? I've had a 20 meter dipole strung just above the roof's apex with masts at each end of a ranch house. The antenna was strung tight so it did not touch the roof. Perhaps you are trying to build a stealth antenna? Could you explain your objective a little more? Thanks!

<edit> If the 40 meter dipole was tight and the 20 meter dipole drooped under that, can you keep it off the roof?

Cheers! Dave K4EET
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
65
#4
Yes that is correct just lay on the roof. I have no trees around me and I live in an hoa. So yes I&#8217;m trying to make it stealth
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2015
Messages
766
Location
Severn, Maryland, USA
#5
Yes that is correct just lay on the roof. I have no trees around me and I live in an hoa. So yes I’m trying to make it stealth
That is what I thought. Well, it should be somewhat OK as long as the wires do not touch each other. What I would do if I were you would be to put the antenna in the attic. Is that possible? I've done that before and know other hams in HOA restricted areas that have their antennas in the attic. How long is your attic; end to end?

Cheers! Dave
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
65
#6
I&#8217;ve thought about that as well but I have vaulted ceilings in almost every room and space is very limited. There is 2 small attics in my house
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top