• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

BCDx36HP: Discuss DMR Upgrade Here

Status
Not open for further replies.

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,294
Location
#850Strong
Do you have any video for this systems yet? I have 3 different systems here in my area I'll try out.
 

KE4ZNR

KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
Joined
Jan 21, 2002
Messages
7,069
Location
Raleigh, NC
To whet folks appetites a little:



Marshall KE4ZNR
 
Last edited:

Skypilot007

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2005
Messages
2,118
Location
Medford, NJ
Conventional Digital Mobile Radio (DMR) channels (paid DMR upgrade required)
MotoTRBO Capacity Plus Trunked Radio systems (paid DMR upgrade required)
MotoTRBO Connect Plus Trunked Radio Systems (paid DMR upgrade required)


So is it a paid upgrade for DMR as a hole or are we going to get whacked for each of these items?
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,287
Location
Arlington, TX
I do not yet have videos, but will try to do some of that, soon. In the mean time, ScannerMaster will be demo'ing it at Dayton. Not sure if Jeff from Ham Station will be there, but he can demo it, too. And, I know that some of the beta testers are going to meet-ups and will show it off.

Caveat if you see it (and whoever is showing it should give this caveat, as well), but there are still a few major changes coming to the current implementation to both make it work better and to also make it easier to determine the proper settings.

RadioReference's database is great. But, since DMR has not been easily scanned, there is a combination of good, bad, and incomplete information here right now for these systems. I know that Lindsay and his team of admins will be working on cleaning things up...and I also know that once the upgrade is released, they will have a lot to do as you guys submit new, verified, information on those systems you've never been able to monitor.
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,287
Location
Arlington, TX
Conventional Digital Mobile Radio (DMR) channels (paid DMR upgrade required)
MotoTRBO Capacity Plus Trunked Radio systems (paid DMR upgrade required)
MotoTRBO Connect Plus Trunked Radio Systems (paid DMR upgrade required)


So is it a paid upgrade for DMR as a hole or are we going to get whacked for each of these items?
I'll repeat my reply from the other thread (with a little expansion): One DMR upgrade gets all supported DMR modes on one scanner (i.e. per scanner, not per user).

I expect pre-ordering to be up tomorrow, barring technical issues.
 

bravo14

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
3,294
Location
#850Strong
I'll repeat my reply from the other thread (with a little expansion): One DMR upgrade gets all supported DMR modes on one scanner (i.e. per scanner, not per user).

I expect pre-ordering to be up tomorrow, barring technical issues.
Cool thanks. I figure would be 1 fee for all 3. I'll be ready to pre order tomorrow!
 

wise871

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Jun 23, 2006
Messages
3,721
Location
Florida
Ouch, there goes $150 to $200 for 4 scanners. I look forward to cleaning up the DMR database.
 

SteveWinchester

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 24, 2005
Messages
25
Location
Big Rapids, Mi.
UPMan - Highjacked my thread

& got it closed. jk lol

Great news. Most will be a little happy for now. Except for the extreme haters.

Does one lucky person get the upgrade for free for playing your treasure hunt (as one person put it) and guessing correctly what all the avatars were trying to tell us. lol
 

Airboss

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 28, 2004
Messages
167
Location
Brasstown, NC
Way to Go Uniden!

Well Paul you should see my smile all the way to Big D from here in the western NC mountains. A couple of years ago we had the invasion of the MotoTurbo sales people and they sold systems to all of our PS agencies. For the first time in a couple of years monitoring PS here in WNC will be fun again Cherokee Co (some MotoT on Tacs) and the new Valley River Casino which is MotoT UHF Trunked. We also have counties to our east which has these annoying digital grinders. Unfortunately my home county of Clay (SO/Fire/EMS) is 100% NXDN. Can we ask for that one Paul? Bottom line: Marshall and RR will be getting some input from us as soon as the upgrade is available. Now if I could get the Discovery mode on my 436 to work I would be a happy camper.

Tip of the Chief's Anchor

Chief Larry

The Old MT Mil Guy.
 
Last edited:

garys

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 13, 2002
Messages
4,603
Location
Eastern MA
That looks nice. I do have a question, if you can answer it. I do a lot of discovery of Con+ systems in my area. In the Wiki we've set up for the two main providers we have a column for LCN, but I'm not sure it's needed. We have OTA channel information too, and that definitely is needed to be able to follow a system. At least if we use DSDPlus.

So, the question is, is there value to including LCN data in terms of programming the x36HP scanners?

To whet folks appetites a little:



Marshall KE4ZNR
 

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
5,895
Location
NW Tenn
Yes I will be updating a 436 and a 536 now waiting for NXDN soon I hope Thanks Paul to you and your team.
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,287
Location
Arlington, TX
At the moment, it appears two conflicting philosophies were used on different MotoTRBO systems.
Philosophy #1 = LCN is the LCN of the frequency (what the scanner will use).
Philosophy #2 = LCN is the Logical Slot number, so every frequency is entered twice (not what the scanner will use).

For those with the freq entered twice, the LCN being used will be the LSN / 2 (rounded up and only entered once).

LSN 1 and 2 = LCN 1
LSN 3 and 4 = LCN 2
LSN 5 and 6 = LCN 3

and so on. (And I made up the term LSN to distinguish it from the LCN that we'll use.)

It just doesn't make much resource sense to have the frequency entered twice.
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,287
Location
Arlington, TX
Also, my current understanding (the software engineers understand it much better than I do) is that Connect Plus requires the LCN. Capacity Plus will not use the LCN (in the scanner). DMR "conventional" uses slot. I put conventional in quotes, as we'll recommend you actually enter it like a trunked system (site with the frequency and color, department with the channels which are TGID/slot).

While you can enter DMR conventional, and you can set a color, this mode will mostly be useful for searching and identifying DMR channel information (is it DMR, Cap+, Con+?...what color?...what System/Site? ...what active TGID/slots?) which you would then use to build your trunked system for scanning.
 

ve1sef

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
414
Location
Ingramport NS, Canada
could get the last firmware up-date,

If your Canadian and don't have a credit card , You can't purchase the Pro-voice up-date key.
Can't see me getting excited over the DMR firmware.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top