• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Discuss New G4 and G5 Pager with Phase 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

trido

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
884
Location
Southern In
#1
Thought we have a thread for those that have the G4 and G5 with Phase 2.
I know some already have them.

My two questions how is it on a Phase 2 system?
Also big question has any new features been added ?
Like TG hold.
Silence ENC.
Anything at all or only Phase 2.
Would think all of us would have access to the new PPS soon.
Thanks
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
592
Location
New Jersey
#2
Thought we have a thread for those that have the G4 and G5 with Phase 2.

I know some already have them.



My two questions how is it on a Phase 2 system?

Also big question has any new features been added ?

Like TG hold.

Silence ENC.

Anything at all or only Phase 2.

Would think all of us would have access to the new PPS soon.

Thanks


Been seeing if I could get anyone from TX to answer some of these questions and post some video of them but apparently we don’t have any TX phase 2 owners in the forums.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

jmontes77029

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 26, 2010
Messages
225
Location
Houston, Tx
#3
Been seeing if I could get anyone from TX to answer some of these questions and post some video of them but apparently we don’t have any TX phase 2 owners in the forums.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Or they were sworn to secrecy not to discuss anything lol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

lexmedic157

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Messages
163
Location
Lex, VA.
#5
As far as I have noticed. There is no soft key press to hold or mute a TG while its receiving


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
592
Location
New Jersey
#6
As far as I have noticed. There is no soft key press to hold or mute a TG while its receiving


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Do u have a phase 2 unit?
If so can u post a video when u get a chance to give us waiting our fix lol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

lexmedic157

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Messages
163
Location
Lex, VA.
#8
We got 4 of the pre-orders since our system is going live on the 12th. Help spur the other departments to jump on the promo
 

lexmedic157

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Messages
163
Location
Lex, VA.
#11
As far as the PPS is concerned, to me, it looks no different from 10beta7. I’m using 11beta7 on the 4 phase 2’s we have currently. Have to get our others upgraded still.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

lexmedic157

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Messages
163
Location
Lex, VA.
#15
Yes. Officially they we’re preorders, but had them expedited to demo before our new system went live. So, my opinion is that it is an official version of the PPS, just not released yet.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

verhoffj1

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
163
Location
Blythewood, SC
#16
Yes. Officially they we’re preorders, but had them expedited to demo before our new system went live. So, my opinion is that it is an official version of the PPS, just not released yet.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hopefully they release the updated PPS before I get my PHASE 2 G4. Also I wonder if there's a firmware update I need to do

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
 

lexmedic157

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Messages
163
Location
Lex, VA.
#19
That’s what these threads have been all about. The hardware does phase 2 but unication is trying to make sure customers pay for the upgrade. If the firmware gets into the wild they could be out a bit of money.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

verhoffj1

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 15, 2014
Messages
163
Location
Blythewood, SC
#20
That’s what these threads have been all about. The hardware does phase 2 but unication is trying to make sure customers pay for the upgrade. If the firmware gets into the wild they could be out a bit of money.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
So I suppose we get it for my dealer's then? Fair enougj.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A5010 using Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top