• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

DMR CON+ Network 268

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Messages
169
Location
Mesa, AZ
#1
Came across this one on 452.425 on SDR#. Still working on finding out more but wanted to see if anyone seen it before or knew what it was? It has some Enc on one TG, other times its not.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Messages
169
Location
Mesa, AZ
#3
Yes its a strong frequency in mesa az. Heres a funny thing tho. CA/AZ share Fisher Wirless DMR.. I still get stuff according to the DB and DSD that originate everywhere Sacremento to San Diego! Go figure how that works!
 

kma371

Global DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
Messages
6,133
Location
Central Valley, CA
#4
Yes its a strong frequency in mesa az. Heres a funny thing tho. CA/AZ share Fisher Wirless DMR.. I still get stuff according to the DB and DSD that originate everywhere Sacremento to San Diego! Go figure how that works!
Any idea what site number it was? Also, do you happen to have any Apple campus near there? Datacenter, warehouse etc? Apple uses 268 here in California and several other states. Could be them.

Edit, looks like I answered my own question. There is a datacenter in Mesa on Signal Butte Road. What you are hearing is most likely comms originating from there. Can you check for activity on Site 20 on the above listed system and see if you hear anything on the two other freqs listed?
 

mtindor

OH/WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,240
Location
Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
#5
Here are all of the licenses for that site location. Two APPLE and one GT ADVANCED TECHNOLOGIES (which I think is an Apple component manufacturer).

These three licenses might all have frequencies used on a single Telepath trunked site, or they may actually have different trunked systems using these three licenses or some conventional frequencies along with the trunked.

WQPW718 APPLE - Signal Butte - Mesa, AZ (Maricopa)
452.425
452.45
461.05
461.55


WQVI418 APPLE - Signal Butte - Mesa, AZ (Maricopa)
462.15
463.7625


WQUN329 GT ADVANCED TECHNOLOGIES - Signal Butte - Mesa, AZ (Maricopa)
463.4125
463.4625
463.6375
464.2875


If I were you I'd expect to find at least a couple more frequencies active on the Apple site you are copying on 452.45 -- and those additional frequencies could be from any of these licenses.

Mike
 

FLANO

AZ DB Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,226
Location
SE of Tucson, AZ
#6
Any idea what site number it was? ...

On my trip up to Phoenix-Gateway on the 6th, I can confirm that I saw that system CON+ CC too. It was site #23, CC was 8. There was no radio activity during my tenure there :)

Looks like it will be another stand alone system with a shared SYSID. Site 23 is already ID'd in CA
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2013
Messages
169
Location
Mesa, AZ
#7
All,

Thanks for the great Info! I will get to chewing on these sites and report back. KMA371, will take a listen to that site and let you know what I hear. Also Flano, I have yet to hear any traffic on this as well just yet for info.

So Flano, youre saying this system is similar to the one in Cali, sharing the same comms but not a site of the cali one listed? Case in point SYSID 119 is shared between fisher wireless and canyon state comms. Those are two different systems.
 

FLANO

AZ DB Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,226
Location
SE of Tucson, AZ
#8
I was suggesting a possibility, from a higher level, that we've seen used across the U.S., there are at times systems that are duplicated, exactly as you pointed out SYS119 is one.

That's not to say emphatically, that this is the situation here. It could be part of that system too, as systems will occasionally update their sites with changes.

Check out those licenses that were given to you and see if you are able to catch anything on those frequencies, especially the one license that has the frequency assignment for the one you and I noted. If it is new, they may still be in the build out stage. Time and patience will confirm this :)

Like it was mentioned, give the other licenses a listen too, as many times they grab frequencies from other associated licenses, very common practice.

It could also be multiple sites too.

Only way to know 100% is keeping an eye and ear to them.

But, it seems we have a heads up !

Good luck,


All,
So Flano, youre saying this system is similar to the one in Cali, sharing the same comms but not a site of the cali one listed? Case in point SYSID 119 is shared between fisher wireless and canyon state comms. Those are two different systems.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
40
Location
Mesa AZ
#11
DSD+ CC Event Log:

CON+ Site:268-23 DCC:8 NL:13 16 17 32 -

The streaming window that shows packet data has

+DMR

Just had a hit:
Group call; TG=144 RID=3061 Ch=4 for 8 seconds

More hits:
ENC Group Call; TG=144 RID=3139 CH=2 Alg=EP KeyID=63 - twice in 2.5 minutes
Group call; TG=144 RID=3139 CH=3
Group call; TG=144 RID=3139 CH=4
Group call; TG=144 RID=3066 CH=3
Group call; TG=144 RID=3063 CH=4

I'm also monitoring on second RTL device 452.450MHz, this is NOT CH 4, going to see if I can find the other 3 channels using the first group of freq. from the list above.

Channel activity window now shows channels 1 thru 4 and of course Ch 1 is showing the control channel.
 
Last edited:

mtindor

OH/WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,240
Location
Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
#13
DSD+ CC Event Log:

CON+ Site:268-23 DCC:8 NL:13 16 17 32 -

The streaming window that shows packet data has

+DMR

Just had a hit:
Group call; TG=144 RID=3061 Ch=4 for 8 seconds

More hits:
ENC Group Call; TG=144 RID=3139 CH=2 Alg=EP KeyID=63 - twice in 2.5 minutes
Group call; TG=144 RID=3139 CH=3
Group call; TG=144 RID=3139 CH=4
Group call; TG=144 RID=3066 CH=3
Group call; TG=144 RID=3063 CH=4

I'm also monitoring on second RTL device 452.450MHz, this is NOT CH 4, going to see if I can find the other 3 channels using the first group of freq. from the list above.

Channel activity window now shows channels 1 thru 4 and of course Ch 1 is showing the control channel.
Keep in mind that DSDPlus shows LSNs / Chs (timeslots).and reports the same unless it specifically mentions "LCN"

Ch 1 / Ch 2 = LCN 1 = 452.425
Ch 3 / Ch 4 = LCN 2 = 461.55 or 461.05
Ch 5 / Ch 6 = LCN 3 = 461.05 or 461.55

Two timeslots (Chs) per LCN | frequency.

You could try something like this in your DSDplus.* files (if you use them):

DSDPlus.Networks
Con+,268,"Telepath"

DSDPlus.Sites
Con+,268,23,"Apple - Mesa Command Center"

DSDPlus.Frequencies
Con+, 268, 23, 1, 452.42500, 457.42500, 0 ; DCC = 8 CC
Con+, 268, 23, 3, 461.55000, 466.55000, 0 ; DCC = 6
Con+, 268, 23, 5, 461.05000, 466.05000, 0 ; DCC = 7

Mike
 
Last edited:

mtindor

OH/WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,240
Location
Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
#15
Thanks for the info Mike, I will try that.

OK files have been changed, running above now.
Good luck! And don't let that DSDPlus.Frequencies file confuse you. It still confuses me sometimes. Since DMR has two timeslots per frequency, DSDPlus wants the LSNs / Ch # in the 4th column.

You could have the DSDPlus.Frequencies file set two ways -- list all LSNs (which means duplicates of every frequency) or use the odd numbers (because that is all DSDPlus needs to know).

Whichever is more understandable to you is the way you should do it. I just include duplicates in mine, but not including the duplicates is easier.

Con+, 268, 23, 1, 452.42500, 457.42500, 0 ; lcn 1
Con+, 268, 23, 3, 461.55000, 466.55000, 0 ; lcn 2
Con+, 268, 23, 5, 461.05000, 466.05000, 0 ; lcn 3

Con+, 268, 23, 1, 452.42500, 457.42500, 0 ; lcn 1
Con+, 268, 23, 2, 452.42500, 457.42500, 0 ; lcn 1
Con+, 268, 23, 3, 461.55000, 466.55000, 0 ; lcn 2
Con+, 268, 23, 4, 461.55000, 466.55000, 0 ; lcn 2
Con+, 268, 23, 5, 461.05000, 466.05000, 0 ; lcn 3
Con+, 268, 23, 6, 461.05000, 466.05000, 0 ; lcn 3

Either one is acceptable. And of course you don't need ; lcn # on the end. Anything after the semicolon is just a note.

Mike
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
40
Location
Mesa AZ
#17
I forgot it was TDMA, so CH 1 slot 1, CH 2 slot 2 is 452.425 and CH 3 and CH 4 is slot 1 and slot 2 on 461.550, this is confirmed, now to figure out how to hear comms on CH 3/CH4.
I copy good comms when they are on CH1/CH2.
Their transmissions are far and few between.
 

mtindor

OH/WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
7,240
Location
Carroll Co OH / EN90LN
#18
I forgot it was TDMA, so CH 1 slot 1, CH 2 slot 2 is 452.425 and CH 3 and CH 4 is slot 1 and slot 2 on 461.550, this is confirmed, now to figure out how to hear comms on CH 3/CH4.
I copy good comms when they are on CH1/CH2.
Their transmissions are far and few between.
Good work!

Unless you have multiiple dongles / Airspys and running multiple copies of SDR# or FMP24 / FMPA, you won't be able to trunk and would simply have to tune to 461.55 to hear comms on Ch 3/4. If you do have multiple dongles / Airspys, I'd be glad to try and help you get it working for trunking. I'm not sure this forum/thread would be the place for it, or if anyone would appreciate that an interloper from Ohio injected any more into the thread though. Feel free to shoot me an email (see my sig) if you need some help.

I usually only use a single Airspy, SDR# and a single copy of DSDPlus. But when I want to trunk, I use an Airspy and a dongle (or two dongles) and FMPA / FMP24 and two copies of DSDPlus with a few .bat files and certain additional commandline params.

Mike
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top