• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

DMR Programming

Status
Not open for further replies.

Forts

Mentor
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
5,512
Location
Ontario, Canada
#1
Well, I took a best guess approach to programming in a local conventional DMR channel. Here's what I did, and my results..

- Went to the Trunked Systems tab, hit New System
- Set the name to DMR Test and selected DMR as the system type
- Under Site Details, for site 1 I gave it a name and set the frequency and color code in the site frequencies box
- Under the Talkgroup Details tab, I entered the talkgroup ID and assigned it an alpha tag and scan list

Aaaaand I think that was it! I updated the programming on the radio and enabled only that scanlist and sure enough, it was talking away... and it sounds EXCELLENT!

Seems like a convoluted way to do a conventional system though. Not sure why you can't just enter your frequency, select DMR as the channel type (instead of FM/NFM etc). Assign CC, timeslot and talkgroup and away you go. The way it is now doing it via a pseudo trunked setup... how do I differentiate between talkgroup 100 on TS1 vs talkgroup 100 on TS2? A fire dept local to me uses this exact setup. OPS 1 is TG100 on TS1, OPS2 is TG100 on TS2.

Great start though, thanks to all involved at Whistler!!
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
4,105
Location
Franktown, CO
#2
how do I differentiate between talkgroup 100 on TS1 vs talkgroup 100 on TS2? A fire dept local to me uses this exact setup. OPS 1 is TG100 on TS1, OPS2 is TG100 on TS2.
That's part of Wendy's "additional DMR feature enhancements are in process and will be available shortly. Stay tuned!".

There will be support for "conventional DMR", where a conventional channel object has a frequency and, if desired, slot and color code. In your case, you'd create two CONV objects, same frequency, different slots.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
4,105
Location
Franktown, CO
#7
What if all it shows in the database is 155.235, dmr and a color code and NO talk group IDs? How would I enter this?
Create a DMR trunked system
In the first (default) site, add that frequency
Set that frequency's "DMR CC" field to the value listed
Create a "Wildcard" talkgroup

You should then hear any DMR traffic on that frequency as long as the color code matches what you programmed.

(This is how I listen to local a DMR-MARC repeater, where all I care about are frequency and color code.)
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
4,105
Location
Franktown, CO
#9
Can I leave the color code to any?
You can, but if you know that what you're trying to monitor uses a specific color code, you should probably enter it. Otherwise, there's a chance that you'll hear other, nearby DMR repeaters that use the same frequency (but a different color code).

In this case, you can think of color code as CTCSS or DCS.
 

KI6AOK

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Messages
183
Location
San Diego
#15
Has anyone had any luck with a Cap+ system yet? I would appreciate any tips, because I'm striking out here trying to listen to the San Diego Zoo Safari Park.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
6,687
Location
Fortunately, GA
#16
Has anyone had any luck with a Cap+ system yet? I would appreciate any tips, because I'm striking out here trying to listen to the San Diego Zoo Safari Park.
KI6AOK, I have a Con + near where I live. Had no problem loading in the 1088 and for the first time in over four years, was able to monitor that county.
My mistake, didn't see that you were referencing a Cap +. Don't have any near me. Sorry
Larry
 
Last edited:

n2pqq

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
896
#17
Well, I took a best guess approach to programming in a local conventional DMR channel. Here's what I did, and my results..

- Went to the Trunked Systems tab, hit New System
- Set the name to DMR Test and selected DMR as the system type
- Under Site Details, for site 1 I gave it a name and set the frequency and color code in the site frequencies box
- Under the Talkgroup Details tab, I entered the talkgroup ID and assigned it an alpha tag and scan list

Aaaaand I think that was it! I updated the programming on the radio and enabled only that scanlist and sure enough, it was talking away... and it sounds EXCELLENT!

Seems like a convoluted way to do a conventional system though. Not sure why you can't just enter your frequency, select DMR as the channel type (instead of FM/NFM etc). Assign CC, timeslot and talkgroup and away you go. The way it is now doing it via a pseudo trunked setup... how do I differentiate between talkgroup 100 on TS1 vs talkgroup 100 on TS2? A fire dept local to me uses this exact setup. OPS 1 is TG100 on TS1, OPS2 is TG100 on TS2.

Great start though, thanks to all involved at Whistler!!
Confused: I tried the above but when I creat a site it says the site name I created
but then under sub type it reverts to p25 auto.

I am trying to use the drm frequencies located in Sussex county New jersey


Vernon

Frequency License Type Tone Alpha Tag Description Mode Tag
477.03750 WQGN627 RM 8 CC
192201 TG
1 SL Vernon FD 1 Fire 1 DMR Fire-Talk
477.03750 WQGN627 RM 8 CC
192202 TG
2 SL Vernon EMS 1 EMS 1 DMR EMS-Tac
477.06250 WQGN627 RM 8 CC
192201 TG
1 SL Vernon FD 2 Fire 2 DMR Fire-Talk
477.06250 WQGN627 RM 8 CC
192202 TG
2 SL Vernon EMS 2 EMS 2 DMR EMS-Tac

http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?ctid=1789#cid-23827

Please Help .
 
Last edited:

KI6AOK

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Messages
183
Location
San Diego
#20
Yes - I simply imported/programmed the same as other DMR systems in my area. Are you in the coverage range of the system?
Thanks for the reply. Yes, I'm within range and have listened to the system on a CS750. I'll reprogram and give it another shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top