• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Douglas Co Sheriff

Status
Not open for further replies.

cajun945

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
0
Location
Parker,Co
i Have every talk group programed for Douglas Co Sheriff but when they say go to B- or D Ch's sometimes i hear them go there other times i dont hear anything?
 

jimmnn

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
14,327
Location
Colorado
The first question has to be what control channels are you using?

For example DCSO A the officer might key up and be on Silver Heights then the dispatcher moves that traffic to B or C and then they are on Smoky or Littleton or West Creek for a while.

Also I have not investigated closely recently but some of the many DCSO TG's might be blocked from certain sites. We do some logging now looking for that.

Jim<

Jim<
 

cajun945

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
0
Location
Parker,Co
I have every Control Channel Programed that has (Denver Metro) next to it ...
should i have any more Programed??

this happens about 50% of the time when they say go to a other Ch C or D then i go and theres no talking :( i just dont want to miss out on anything :) lol
 

jimmnn

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
14,327
Location
Colorado
Would you believe me if I said you might have too many CC's programmed in, more and more we are finding less is better when it comes to programming CC's.

and some of use are even trying banks with only one or two CC's programmed into them with good success.

Remember the scanner has to take the time to check each of those CC's each time it scans through.

Jim<
 

jimmnn

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
14,327
Location
Colorado
That would take a little trial and error from your actual monitoring location, but try locking out a few and see how it does, I can certainly probably easily tell you the ones you don't need if your primary interest in DCSO and Parker FD.

Jim<
 

cajun945

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Messages
0
Location
Parker,Co
103 Silver Heights (Denver Metro)
104 West Creek (Denver Metro)

only 2 Control Channels i found with Douglas Co
anyone know anymore?
 

jimmnn

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
14,327
Location
Colorado
Franktown, West Creek, **Chevron**, Smoky Hill etc all cover Douglas County well.

Jim<
 
Last edited:

luke-1

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
611
Location
Parker, CO
cajun945 said:
103 Silver Heights (Denver Metro)
104 West Creek (Denver Metro)

only 2 Control Channels i found with Douglas Co
anyone know anymore?
Since I see you are in Parker, Chevron is the only one you need for Douglas Co and Parker PD. It is also one of the only ones you will consistently hear DCSO CH's- B,C,and D.
 

scanlist

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2002
Messages
2,029
Location
Greeley, CO
Chevron for Parker and Lonetree 100% of the time is highly likely.

DCSO on the other hand....

What you are running into is the nature of the radio system. DTRS is not a simulcast system it is a roaming system. The DCSO primary talk-group "A" will end up on multiple sites as 99% of the time everybody will be on it. Now when a tac or car to car event occurs the only towers that will have that talk-group (B, C, D etc...) are where the units on that talk-group are affiliated with. So yes you will miss some of the non-primary talk-groups if units on that talk-group are not affiliated with the tower YOU are monitoring. This is very true especially when you are dealing with a county with varying terrain.

Phil.
 

Ryanco

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
20
Location
Douglas County , Colorado
i monitor Douglas Co Parker PD and Denver Metro area from PARKER>
everything comes in loud and clear^ I have all Denver Metro Control Ch's Programmed
is there something i should change?
 

Todd-NG

Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2004
Messages
161
Location
Northglenn, CO
jimmnn said:
Would you believe me if I said you might have too many CC's programmed in, more and more we are finding less is better when it comes to programming CC's.

and some of us are even trying banks with only one or two CC's programmed into them with good success.

Remember the scanner has to take the time to check each of those CC's each time it scans through.

Jim<
Thank you Jim! I made a similar statement about this a while back in another thread and got blasted for it. I was told that my "performance problems" had to be caused by something else and that having lots of CC's programmed into the radio had no bearing on it's performance. I went from having 8 CC's down to 3 CC's in my Adams County bank and it made a huge (positive) difference with my Pro-96.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top