• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

DTRS Location-Based Points/Radii Complete!

Status
Not open for further replies.

greenthumb

Colorado DB Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Feb 29, 2004
Messages
1,933
For those of you using GPS-based scanners (e.g. BCD996T) and the RR the web import feature, thanks to the hard work our site owner (blantonl) for rolling out a tool to make this work easy on the admins., I have completed entering the lat/long coordinates and radius for each site and set of talk groups in the database for DTRS.

I am pretty sure that the entire trunking database for Colorado now has location based data for all sites and talk group sets, so if you encounter a set that does not have location data, please submit information for that system to let us know and it will be taken care of.

The conventional database will be worked on in the coming weeks. Enjoy!
 
Last edited:

Ryfly

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
114
I'm sort of lost on this.. What exactly is this going to do for our GPS scanner?
 

Thayne

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 1, 2002
Messages
2,129
Short answer: The Uniden 996 can use that info to change things in the way the scanner operates in case you are driving around.
 

jfab

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 10, 2006
Messages
1,461
Location
Broomfield/Aurora, CO
Thayne said:
Short answer: The Uniden 996 can use that info to change things in the way the scanner operates in case you are driving around.
This may sound like a stupid question, but why doesn't the 396t have this feature?
 

Thayne

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 1, 2002
Messages
2,129
Got me; maybe the shadow knows--My dad used to say you can't get 10lbs of "something" in a 5lb bag. :twisted:
 

GrayJeep

Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
931
Location
N. Colo.
A better answer

Ryfly said:
Why do you need the lat/lon for your scanner?

Sorry, i'm a real newb at this lol
So that as you travel the radio will start listening to the stronger control channels and stop trying to get the ones that are getting marginal. Better scanning performance would be the result.

If I understand it correctly the scanner requires an external GPS be connected to it. The scanner itself is not a GPS so it doesn't know where it is unless something else tells it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top