Fairfax P25 - SDS100 fine, nothing on BCD436HP

W3MAL

Premium Subscriber
I feel like a dummy asking this. I have both a BCD436HP and SDS100 monitoring Fairfax P25 police and fire. They were programmed with the same favorites lists from Sentinel.

Up until recently, both picked up pretty much all calls (although the SDS100 did slightly better from my location).

Today, I'm getting nothing at all on the BCD436HP while the SDS100 is picking up everything and I have no idea what changed. I've compared settings and nothing jumps out at me.

Any suggestions? Again, haven't touched a thing and both used to perform similarly. Environmental factors (bad weather)? I'm stumped.

weyforthr

Premium Subscriber
Do you have a previous known good database saved in Sentinel? Before making any changes (manually or via Sentinel) to the scanner, a backup should occur. I suspect most people don't do that. As a former database administrator, i have learned one can never have too many backups...

weyforthr

Premium Subscriber
I feel like a dummy asking this. I have both a BCD436HP and SDS100 monitoring Fairfax P25 police and fire. They were programmed with the same favorites lists from Sentinel.

Up until recently, both picked up pretty much all calls (although the SDS100 did slightly better from my location).

Today, I'm getting nothing at all on the BCD436HP while the SDS100 is picking up everything and I have no idea what changed. I've compared settings and nothing jumps out at me.

Any suggestions? Again, haven't touched a thing and both used to perform similarly. Environmental factors (bad weather)? I'm stumped.
I am getting fair reception of Fairfax P25 from Stafford on an SDS100. RSSI is about -90 dBM, but wavers wildly with high error rate, but despite that, I can hear FD and PD dispatch as well as VSP Fairfax clearly. So I suspect it is a settings issue of some sort. Can you at least receive National Weather Service. As an example 162,55 MHz?

Firemantincan