• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

HP-2: Features you want in new firmware?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
142
Location
City of Angels, CA.
#1
- Selectable delay on a per channel basis, just like scan lockout.

- A scan button.

- A large font clock.

- A battery charging option for higher capacity rechargeable batteries

- Priority feature


What options do you want to see in the next firmware update?

Please add them below:











.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,112
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
#2
I don't care if the HP2 charges batteries at all. Would rather it didn’t have the charging circuitry in there.

Mark
WS1095/536/436/996P2/HP1e/HP2e/996XT/325P2/396XT/PRO668/PSR800/PRO652
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
#10
PL/DPL squelch tail eliminator as the whistler models have.

Ability to mute the mdc, not necessarily decode which I'm sure most do but I'd be happy with muting part of the mdc.

I think the pl and dpl squelch tail eliminator would be a easy firmware update.
 

N2MWE

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 30, 2001
Messages
2,439
Location
People's Republic of New York
#11
Mine has never asked if I want to use the GPS feature.

It would be nice if it could display the active site and frequency while scanning or stopped on a channel.
If the scanner is connected to a GPS "permanently," as mine was in the car, every time I turned the scanner on it said GPS detected, use GPS or ignore GPS. It was annoying.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,112
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
#12
The same messages result for connecting usb power, asking whether you want to charge. It would be nice to have a choice of never charge or always charge that you answer once.

Just like always use gps, or let me chooae.

Mark
WS1095/536/436/996P2/HP1e/HP2e/996XT/325P2/396XT/PRO668/PSR800/PRO652
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
46
Location
Southwest MO. (transplant from So. Cal.)
#13
I think a scan feature would be great. It never fails when I want to listen to something like a fire call for instance the HP-2 will lock onto another active channel before I can pause it, and I'll miss the traffic I wanted to hear on the fire channel. A scan feature would allow me to resume scanning and lock into what I wanted to hear in the first place. other than that I love the HP-2.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,112
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
#14
I think a scan feature would be great. It never fails when I want to listen to something like a fire call for instance the HP-2 will lock onto another active channel before I can pause it, and I'll miss the traffic I wanted to hear on the fire channel. A scan feature would allow me to resume scanning and lock into what I wanted to hear in the first place. other than that I love the HP-2.
Actually, it would perform just like the scan button on the other Uniden radios. It would resume scanning, but that could either mean

1. It moves to the channel you were interested in.
2. It rechecks the control channel of the current system and potentially re-grabs the same talkgroup you are trying to advance from.
3. It rechecks the control channel of the current system and grabs another talkgroup you don't want.
4. It moves on to another system in the scan sequence, so you have to go through potentially a number of systems to get back to the one you were interested in.

There might be more permutations. While this is all true, a button to force scan might be useful.

One thing that often works is to double tap the bottom (channel) button. Often this works by

1 - holding on current channel, and then
2 - resuming scan.

Mark
WS1095/536/436/996P2/HP1e/HP2e/996XT/325P2/396XT/PRO668/PSR800/PRO652
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
2,882
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
#15
It never fails when I want to listen to something like a fire call for instance the HP-2 will lock onto another active channel before I can pause it, and I'll miss the traffic I wanted to hear on the fire channel
It would be very handy if Uniden could add a function that when you tap "replay" and listen to a recorded audio, that you could tap on the channel and listen to that channel live.

/Ubbe
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
142
Location
City of Angels, CA.
#16
If we don't put these ideas down in public Uniden can say they had no idea we wanted these changes and therefore had no reason to issue a firmware update. Now they know. More ideas please.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
46
Location
Southwest MO. (transplant from So. Cal.)
#17
There might be more permutations. While this is all true, a button to force scan might be useful.

One thing that often works is to double tap the bottom (channel) button. Often this works by

1 - holding on current channel, and then
2 - resuming scan.
This is the only scanner I have ever owned (and I've owned many) that didn't come with a scan button. While what you say about the other issues I might encounter is true I still do miss that button. I've been using the alternative method you mentioned above since that is my only other option and some times it works and other times it doesn't. Oh well, I guess that's progress. Thanks a lot for the suggestion though. Much appreciated.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
2,882
Location
Stockholm, Sweden
#18
Instead of displaying the text "Department" and "Channel" with the white dots swirling during scanning, show the clock and date. And/or switch to show other info with one second interval, like last transmission received (with option to tune to the freq) current number of channels being scanned and total scan time, memory remaining and other status, instead of looking at swirling dots.

/Ubbe
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,112
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
#19
Since I don't spend much time staring at the radio (especially when it is not receiving anything), I don't care whether it is swirling dots or not.

While I guess this thread is a good idea, I believe the fact there is only 1 version of the firmware, as no fixes were required, is the most important factor here.

It works. There may be things we can think up to change it, but there is no need to do anything to fix it.

Mark
WS1095/536/436/996P2/HP1e/HP2e/996XT/325P2/396XT/PRO668/PSR800/PRO652
 

W8RMH

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
7,805
Location
Grove City, Ohio (A Bearcat not a Buckeye)
#20
This is the only scanner I have ever owned (and I've owned many) that didn't come with a scan button. While what you say about the other issues I might encounter is true I still do miss that button. I've been using the alternative method you mentioned above since that is my only other option and some times it works and other times it doesn't. Oh well, I guess that's progress. Thanks a lot for the suggestion though. Much appreciated.
To force scan the double tap has never worked for me. My only alternative is to avoid the current channel or manually select the channel I want.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top