• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

BCD536HP: Finding system details

Status
Not open for further replies.

troymail

Silent Key
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,977
Location
Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
#22
... the DAT indicator only blinks on briefly occasionally. It never gets sold. Does that sound like a simulcast issue?
Yes - but it could mean other things as well.

If you are only scanning it as a single system/site (or holding on the site), you should see a fairly steady pattern of DAT - like, on for a second and then of and then right back on again. If not, the radio just isn't receiving the signal steadily enough to work well.

The first thing you need to accomplish is finding a way (location) to receive the system/site consistently. From my experience, the best/easiest way to do that is move/drive towards a transmitter site. The idea here is that if you're much closer to one transmitter tower, you are manually reducing the simulcast effects. Once you are able to do that and receive something then you can start considering options (antennas, etc.). I'm just not convinced yet that you have things configured properly yet - but it sounds like you're getting close.
 

N0BDW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
456
Location
Livingston Co., NY
#23
Reviewing again it is actually the LNK indicator, not DAT that is flashing on occasionally.

I plan on hunting for a DC adapter and driving to one of the tower sites today. Will keep this thread updated. Thanks for all the help so far.
 

N0BDW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
456
Location
Livingston Co., NY
#24
It works!

I drove up to the area of one of the tower sites and it picked up perfectly. Going to start working on an antenna solution so we can hear it from the fire hall.
 

troymail

Silent Key
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
9,977
Location
Supply (Lockwood Inlet area), NC
#25
It works!

I drove up to the area of one of the tower sites and it picked up perfectly. Going to start working on an antenna solution so we can hear it from the fire hall.
Great to hear --

So it sounds like the 536 isn't handling the simulcast very well (at all?) in your (home?) area - is that correct?

Also - which site, tower, and frequency did you determine to be the one that is working? (just curious)
 

N0BDW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
456
Location
Livingston Co., NY
#26

hfd26

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 28, 2014
Messages
45
#27
Hi ben, I had the same problem u did with my 436. I set mine up on a singal freq p25 system and it work on different talkgroup but no voice. I set it up on the p25 x2 tdma and got different talkgroups to work from different zones and got voice. I only programmed the control channels and it automatically updated the band plan.
 
Last edited:

N0BDW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 1, 2010
Messages
456
Location
Livingston Co., NY
#28
We set up a yagi (temporarily) at the fire hall today and the decode quality meter in analyze mode went from 20-25% to 80-100%. So it seems that'll be the solution for stationary scanners. Mobile is going to be more of a challenge... Haven't figured out how to improve that yet.

This is the antenna we're using, though I'm not sure I'd recommend it:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00AR0CEX4/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It isn't particularly well built (holes aren't drilled straight, as an example) and it doesn't have an RF connector on it so you have to wire the coax feedline directly to it. Never seen anything like that before. But with some elbow grease it works, and seems to work quite well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top