• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Firefox trouble in forums

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaveNF2G

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 23, 2001
Messages
9,068
Location
Rensselaer, NY
#1
I should note up front that I do not believe this to be an RR problem. I am mentioning it here just so Lindsey et al are aware of it.

When I post a quick reply to a forum using the current revision of Firefox (22.0), the page goes into a constant reload mode. To stop it, I have to exit and restart the browser.

It appears to be an undesirable interaction between Firefox or one of its extensions or plugins and the software used to run the forums.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2006
Messages
168
Location
Central Florida
#3
I use to use FF all the time however the load times just became to much. Google chrome is what I use now as much as I do not like them gathering all the data that they do. However the lesser of 2 evils.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2004
Messages
1,621
Location
GA!
#4
Dave,

Try this...Click on help next to window then click troubleshoot information then it'll go to a different website look to the right where it shows reset Firefox click on that then it'll reset Firefox. I had this problem before and this option worked.
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
198
#5
Toolbars and other malware will corrupt the Firefox config file. Do what N4CYA said and do the reset, just backup your passwords first. Your bookmarks should be ok but you can back them up as well. You will have to reinstall any Add-ons but that is easy. Same thing if Firefox loads slow on this or all websites. Even after you remove the malware or toolbar the config change problem will remain, but the reset will start you with a clean config file. Your malware and anti-virus will not detect a corrupted config file. BTW this forum loads just fine (and fast) on Firefox 22.0 here.
 

WayneH

Forums Veteran
Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 16, 2000
Messages
7,464
Location
Sitting in an airport somewhere
#7
Rather than start over from scratch just disable extensions in groups and then narrow them down.

Or just restart with extensions disabled to rule them all out. No sense doing it the painful way first.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2009
Messages
934
Location
Central KS
#8
For me So far.. Its Working

I'm not having issues as of yet on F.F. i got updated to 22.0 just before i came on here to post i was on Chrome when i came across the thread and thought i'd see how it would do for me).

But when i Depart from either browser i clear out all of my History for that Day i'm on and then i go to CC cleaner and Run it as Well so far doing this patter for the Last 3 to 4 has done rather well..
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2010
Messages
1,100
Location
New Market TN
#9
I started using FF at version 19.0 and have had no trouble here.

I cant see using Google's web browser since they are the biggest tracking comapany out there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top