• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Firefox

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 19, 2014
Messages
409
Location
Nassau County
#1
After the latest update of Firefox i noticed that it was running a bit slower then usual
In the task manager i see there is now 2 firefox running taking up a lot of memory
I dont think it was like this before the update
Anyone else notice this?
 

SteveC0625

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
2,553
Location
Northville, NY (Fulton County)
#2
After the latest update of Firefox i noticed that it was running a bit slower then usual
In the task manager i see there is now 2 firefox running taking up a lot of memory
I dont think it was like this before the update
Anyone else notice this?
That can happen with any program. Close up one of them.

If it happens regular, and just with Firefox, that might indicate a problem, but very unlikely. Typically you can open a second one just by hitting the wrong button and not even know it.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
421
Location
Corbin, KY
#3

N9JIG

Sheriff
Moderator
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Messages
3,873
Location
Far NW Valley
#4
I never really paid too much attention to it until recently.

On my main Windows 7 installation (a virtual machine on my iMac) with 16 GB of RAM assigned I checked the three browsers I have installed (Firefox, IE and Chrome). Each has Adblock Plus installed and home page set to Google.

I started Firefox and there was a single item listed in Task Manager taking 290K of RAM.

When I opened Chrome there were originally a dozen items listed in Task Manager then it dropped down to 6, with a total of 150K of RAM usage.

When I opened IE it showed 2 items with a total of about 135K of RAM.

I used to use Firefox almost exclusively, both on my Macs and Windows machines. I have started to use Chrome much more often recently though due to some serious issues with Firefox. For instance, it doesn't play nice with the FCC search pages and tends to get stupid after playing videos on Facebook, Youtube or Vimeo. Chrome and Safari have not had these issues. I almost never use IE so I couldn't tell you if it has these problems or not.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
421
Location
Corbin, KY
#5
I never really paid too much attention to it until recently.

On my main Windows 7 installation (a virtual machine on my iMac) with 16 GB of RAM assigned I checked the three browsers I have installed (Firefox, IE and Chrome). Each has Adblock Plus installed and home page set to Google.

I started Firefox and there was a single item listed in Task Manager taking 290K of RAM.

When I opened Chrome there were originally a dozen items listed in Task Manager then it dropped down to 6, with a total of 150K of RAM usage.

When I opened IE it showed 2 items with a total of about 135K of RAM.

I used to use Firefox almost exclusively, both on my Macs and Windows machines. I have started to use Chrome much more often recently though due to some serious issues with Firefox. For instance, it doesn't play nice with the FCC search pages and tends to get stupid after playing videos on Facebook, Youtube or Vimeo. Chrome and Safari have not had these issues. I almost never use IE so I couldn't tell you if it has these problems or not.
Run chrome for awhile and use some tabs and you will see that Chrome can really eat RAM. Not to mention the privacy issues with Chrome.

Check out Vivaldi. It runs on the Chrome engine without all the Google mess. It is my backup browser.
 

flythunderbird

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 1, 2012
Messages
999
Location
Grid square EM99fh
#8
After several years of using Firefox, I gave up on it and switched to Vivaldi. I got tired of Firefox becoming increasingly bloated. Vivaldi runs faster than Firefox on my Windows 7 PC, and both were using Adblock Plus.
 

rbm

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
1,394
Location
Upstate New York
#11
Firefox has been my primary browser since it first came out, and still is.

However, it's become bloated and slower over the years.
It also gets tied in knots at times by scripts.

Now, if I want a fast, streamlined browser, I use Epic Privacy Browser.
It's much faster and (at least so far) has never caused me any problems.

Rich

Epic Privacy Browser
https://www.epicbrowser.com/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top