• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Firmware update

Status
Not open for further replies.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
21,681
Location
Bowie, Md.
#2
Are you using the front port? If the 996P2 is like the other 996 models, firmware updates MUST be done using the front, not the back, port

PLEASE give more information when asking questions like this. It's much too vague. Error messages are a big first step. Otherwise we're all shooting in the dark...Mike
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
99
#3
I asked before and UPMan said it could be a firewall issue. I have updated the 396 and 996XT with no issues. Here is the error I get when trying to run the updater. Internet access failed the remote sever returned an error 227 entering passive mode (69,15,51,147,8,122). This is for the DMR update for the 996P2.
 

captncarp

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 25, 2005
Messages
369
Location
North River, NY. USA
#9
Firmware Update

I see nothing has changed. I will not buy another Uniden until I get a electronic engineering and a computer engineering degree so I can get there updates installed and to work. My course in the USN electronics school was enough to handle 50 receive radios but not a Uniden which we didn't have any of......I wonder why?
 

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
5,621
Location
NW Tenn
#10
Well I guess you will not buy a Whistler either. My Unidens connect better than my Whistlers (you have to wait 30 to 60 seconds) for the Whistler USB port to see the scanner.
 

eaf1956

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 11, 2007
Messages
2,701
Location
Evansville, IN
#11
I see nothing has changed. I will not buy another Uniden until I get a electronic engineering and a computer engineering degree so I can get there updates installed and to work. My course in the USN electronics school was enough to handle 50 receive radios but not a Uniden which we didn't have any of......I wonder why?
Odd as it has never been a problem for me.
 

captncarp

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 25, 2005
Messages
369
Location
North River, NY. USA
#12
Firmware updates

Well I guess you will not buy a Whistler either. My Unidens connect better than my Whistlers (you have to wait 30 to 60 seconds) for the Whistler USB port to see the scanner.
I have updated a lot of GRE and Whistler scanners easily and quickly.
The latest was a TRX-1 and 2 with the NXDN update. Smooth and fast enough for me.
 

buddrousa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
5,621
Location
NW Tenn
#15
capt I own over $7000.00 in GRE built RS 18 668 Whistler trx-1 and trx-2 uniden 785D 996P2's 536's and 436 plus my other gre built RS p25 scanners I am not a fan boy of brands just a fan of scanners. I know the plus and minus of each scanner I own and accept each for those reasons listed.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
620
Location
Maryville, Tennessee
#16
FYI, for others who might have this issue.

I just ran into the issue at work and Kaspersky Endpoint Security was the culprit. I temporarily disabled it long enough to update successfully. Don't forget to re-enable after your updates though!
 

UPMan

Uniden Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 19, 2004
Messages
13,287
Location
Arlington, TX
#17
According to a Google result:
In Kaspersky, disable monitoring on port 21 in "General Settings - > Monitoring"
 

fxdscon

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
3,856
#18
I see nothing has changed. I will not buy another Uniden until I get a electronic engineering and a computer engineering degree so I can get there updates installed and to work. My course in the USN electronics school was enough to handle 50 receive radios but not a Uniden which we didn't have any of......I wonder why?
Never had a problem with many Uniden firmware updates, easy enough just by following directions.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
99
#19
I finally found what was blocking the updater file on my computer. If was McAfee proxy service. I used MSConfig to find the start up services and turned things off until the file would load.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top