• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Fleetnet / Police Freq Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

cpanagap

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2007
Messages
4
Hey All,

Does anybody know if it is possible to scan the input frequencies analog or digital for fleetnet?

I'll give you a bit of background...

In Ontario, it is illegal to use a radar detector. There is a better way, however. If you have any cheap analog scanner, you can tune to it to 410.8625Mhz...if there is a cruiser in your area with it's repeater turned on, you will hear at least some static, or even some talking when you are within around 2km from the cruiser. This will let you know when you are near a cruiser!

My question is why stop there? If you can scan the repeater input frequency...then you will be able to tell when you are close to a cruiser (or ambulance, or MTO) vehicle no matter weather they have their repeater on or not.

If anyone has any info on this, I would appriciate it!

Chris
 

Saint

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,295
Location
Fort Erie Ontario Canada
frequencies

cpanagap said:
Hey All,

Does anybody know if it is possible to scan the input frequencies analog or digital for fleetnet?

I'll give you a bit of background...

In Ontario, it is illegal to use a radar detector. There is a better way, however. If you have any cheap analog scanner, you can tune to it to 410.8625Mhz...if there is a cruiser in your area with it's repeater turned on, you will hear at least some static, or even some talking when you are within around 2km from the cruiser. This will let you know when you are near a cruiser!

My question is why stop there? If you can scan the repeater input frequency...then you will be able to tell when you are close to a cruiser (or ambulance, or MTO) vehicle no matter weather they have their repeater on or not.

If anyone has any info on this, I would appriciate it!

Chris
It would not be very hard for you to set up a search between 140.00 and 144.00 MHz and see if you can scan these frequencies. But if for some reason you can't do this the answer is yes you can scan them they are frequencies.
Steve
 

cpanagap

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2007
Messages
4
I guess I was just wondering if anyone knew the actual frequencies that the mobile units would be transmitting on, other than the know vehicular repeater freq. Unless they are on random frequencies within that range. I figured that the repeaters must have specific input frequencies.
 

Saint

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,295
Location
Fort Erie Ontario Canada
Frequencies

cpanagap said:
I guess I was just wondering if anyone knew the actual frequencies that the mobile units would be transmitting on, other than the know vehicular repeater freq. Unless they are on random frequencies within that range. I figured that the repeaters must have specific input frequencies.
What you looking for are the conventional frequencies, correct, you can find them here,
http://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?aid=577
Steve
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
10,838
Location
Central Ontario
The input channels for each tower site are fixed and can be scanned.

No, the database does not list them. It only lists the output channels of the trunked repeater.

You need to search between 138-141Mhz to find them not 140-144Mhz.

The easiest way is to run trunker to determine the input channel numbers. Then you need to convert these to the actual frequency.
 

mikewazowski

Forums Manager/Global DB Admin
Staff member
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
10,838
Location
Central Ontario
Yes, I forgot about that range.

There's a 3rd range of inputs as well but I've yet to see them used.
 

frankh

Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2004
Messages
332
Location
where they used to build cars
Couple things, you might want to monitor sim 11, I've heard the rangers doing speed enforcement on it. The inputs, at least down my way, use a split of 4.0200mhz eg 142.500 out, 138.480 in.
 

exkalibur

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
2,662
Location
York, Ontario
That offset of 4.020 isn't standard "across the board".

Really the best way is to run a program like Mike was suggesting. Don't setup a channel plan, and it'll display channel numbers "raw", which you would then have to convert.

IE;
1) Take the channel number in hex and convert to decimal
2) Multiply the channel number by .0015
3) Add to the input Base Frequency
I believe this would work, someone correct me if not.

The base frequencies (and end frequencies) for the input channels are;
Range 1: 138.0150 - 139.9950
Range 2: 148.0150 - 150.0400
Range 3: 150.0650 - 151.7150
 

warrior420

Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
350
Location
Zone 2
Does anyone know what the Sim 1 frequency would be? Is it 458.5625 ?

thnx
 
Last edited:

hypersight

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
400
Location
Canada
If you are talking about Sim 1 for the old NOR system, its 140.970
458.5625 is a simplex channel, but it's labeled as PC-01
 

DaveH

Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
3,071
Location
Ottawa, Ont.
exkalibur said:
That offset of 4.020 isn't standard "across the board".

Really the best way is to run a program like Mike was suggesting. Don't setup a channel plan, and it'll display channel numbers "raw", which you would then have to convert.

IE;
1) Take the channel number in hex and convert to decimal
2) Multiply the channel number by .0015
3) Add to the input Base Frequency
I believe this would work, someone correct me if not.

The base frequencies (and end frequencies) for the input channels are;
Range 1: 138.0150 - 139.9950
Range 2: 148.0150 - 150.0400
Range 3: 150.0650 - 151.7150
Indeed. Input channels for each site would need to be determined.
The input frequency for each output is fixed, but may be different
amongst sites e.g. 142.830 may have input 138.810 on one site, and
(for example) 149.830 on another.

It works both ways; I've seen Hydro-Quebec sites using the same
input frequency, but different output frequencies, on different sites of
course.

Dave
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top