• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

FMP auto scan dosn't work.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 22, 2016
Messages
4
#1
Hello everyone. Recently bought rtl-dsr and trying understand all these things in radio :) I wanted to ask since i didn't found answer by searching forum. The FMP tool, when I press S button on keyboard , doesn't scan anything for me and I'm getting error "FMP.ScanList not found" . I understand that I need some file with range of frequencies, right ? I would put it in to directory , but I don't know what format it should be , anyone here can help me with example ? :) Thanks guys!

Sorry for bad English , i'm from non English speaking country.


Greetings to everyone.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2005
Messages
381
#2
Look for or create a file named: FMP.ScanList.txt
-------
copied from the FMP.txt file:
scanning

FMP can (slowly) scan frequencies

a frequency list, one frequency per line, should be placed in a file
named FMP.ScanList

the format of each line is:

frequency mode description

example:

450.1250 TIII Acme Radio


frequency is in MHz


mode text controls bandpass filter selection

4 kHz modes:

D-STAR
DSTAR
IDAS
NX48
NEXEDGE48

7 kHz modes:

DMR
TRBO
Cap+
Con+
TIII

9.5 kHz modes:

NXDN
NEXEDGE
NEXEDGE96
NX96
P25

12.5 kHz modes

PV
ProVoice
any other text string (analog, LTR, ...)


blank lines in the file are ignored

processing of the FMP.ScanList file stops if a line containing
the string <EOF> is found; frequency entries that you don't want
to scan can be stored in the file after the <EOF> line


pressing S starts scanner mode

pressing Esc exits scanner mode

no other scanning commands (Hold, L/O, etc.) are presently implemented


FMP's scanner mode is designed to be used with DSD+. FMP and DSD+
should be running in the same folder. While DSD+ is decoding
digital voice, FMP will auto-hold on the current RF channel.
If DSD+ is not decoding digital voice, FMP will auto-scan to the
next channel in the scanlist. This behaviour will let you monitor
multiple digital channels, including control or rest channels.
FMP will not get hung up on constant carriers that are not broadcasting
digital voice calls.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2014
Messages
34
Location
EU
#4
sadakura, using notepad you should create your own FMP.ScanList file (.scanlist should be the file extension) and put it in you dsdplus folder (also fmp folder)
in that file you should put your frequencies in the format as described above:
the format of each line is:

frequency mode description

that should do it, and fmp will see the frequencies in the scan file.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2016
Messages
4
#5
That's great , Thanks , I have added few I know , but no success, later i have readed out that police here on TETRA, so it useless :).

Maybe a little bit "noob" question , but is there any way to scan DSD supported (decoding) frequencies automatically ? Let's say 160-170Mhz and stop on first decoded packets ? That would change world :))

I think it's truly possible, just question of automation/coding

Greetings,
Thomas.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2014
Messages
34
Location
EU
#6
You can try the tetra scanner project ... with some luck police is not encrypted.
I usually use sdr sharp to visually search for distinct looking DMR signals ... or you can do that from the fmp. ... yes it would be great to have a scanner for a specific modulation.

As for the FMP scanner ... my problem is that the scanner doesn't stop when voice packages are detected. Despite of reading many posts and checking everything twice I still haven't solved this
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2016
Messages
4
#7
Thanks for note , that tells that I'm not alone , I hope in future it will be definitely made, looking from point of software it would take an day of coding, just telling.., my friend familiar with this, however in completely different niche :)
 

riccom

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 2, 2004
Messages
1,087
Location
SLIDELL, LA
#8
Is there a way to use it for analog and not have the white noise in the background?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2006
Messages
2,563
Location
Berkeley Co WV
#11
I am looking for it and do not see a command line for it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Read through this post - http://forums.radioreference.com/2667714-post5.html

It has -

Squelch logic has been added.

Use -q1 on the command line to enable squelch.

Press Q to enable/disable squelch.


This is for DSD+ version 2.18 which is the Fastlane version. If you don't subscribe to Fastlane then you must be using the latest public version which does not have the squelch function.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top