• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

FREESCAN STEP and MOD

Status
Not open for further replies.

ScanMaine

Was MaineRadioMan
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 24, 2013
Messages
1,481
Location
Dresden Maine
#1
Does it really work with setting the steps and the mode to the scanner and if so where is the most accurate Step and mode chart. I know all two ways must be 12.5 NFM but does it matter on a scanner or just leave it at auto!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,112
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
#4
Each of those 3 ranges have different default steps. In fact there are at least a couple different default steps just between 150 to 175mz.

Mark
536/436/HP1/HP2/996XT/996P2/396XT/325P2/PSR800
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
21,679
Location
Bowie, Md.
#5
Narrowbanding would have no effect on your loband stuff, so auto would likely work fine. However on the VHF and UHF ranges, in some cases, narrowbanding would change the step and what mod(ulation) you would need to set.

For example, amateur radio frequencies, GMRS, FRS and the like are not impacted, so auto would also work fine.

This also depends on which scanner you are trying to program? Mike
 

ScanMaine

Was MaineRadioMan
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 24, 2013
Messages
1,481
Location
Dresden Maine
#6
Narrowbanding would have no effect on your loband stuff, so auto would likely work fine. However on the VHF and UHF ranges, in some cases, narrowbanding would change the step and what mod(ulation) you would need to set.

For example, amateur radio frequencies, GMRS, FRS and the like are not impacted, so auto would also work fine.

This also depends on which scanner you are trying to program? Mike
im asking for help



BCT15x and and 536hp and where can I find the current or correct band plan. I didn't think it would make a difference on the scanner so That's why I was asking for help

Thanks
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
21,679
Location
Bowie, Md.
#7
I wouldn't worry about a 'bandplan' - concentrate on your intended targets and see whether they've converted over. Since your town is in Oxford county, this is what the database shows...

Oxford County, Maine (ME) Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference

You do have some narrowbanding here - anything marked 'FMN' in the mode. Looks like they didn't adjust for the new channel spacing, so you can leave that as the default.

Are you intending to search these ranges? You would have a devil of a time with the different spacing depending on the service being searched...

Mike
 
Last edited:

ScanMaine

Was MaineRadioMan
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 24, 2013
Messages
1,481
Location
Dresden Maine
#8
I wouldn't worry about a 'bandplan' - concentrate on your intended targets and see whether they've converted over. Since your town is in Oxford county, this is what the database shows...

Oxford County, Maine (ME) Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference

You do have some narrowbanding here - anything marked 'FMN' in the mode. Looks like they didn't adjust for the new channel spacing, so you can leave that as the default.

Are you intending to search these ranges? You would have a devil of a time with the different spacing depending on the service being searched...

Mike
Thanks Sir, so in other words dont worry about it. TY
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,112
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
#9
Band plan and default frequency steps are two totally unrelated things.

Still trying to figure out exactly what you are asking or trying to do.

Mark
536/436/HP1/HP2/996XT/996P2/396XT/325P2/PSR800
 

ScanMaine

Was MaineRadioMan
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 24, 2013
Messages
1,481
Location
Dresden Maine
#10
Band plan and default frequency steps are two totally unrelated things.

Still trying to figure out exactly what you are asking or trying to do.

Mark
536/436/HP1/HP2/996XT/996P2/396XT/325P2/PSR800

when you open up FREE SCAN it says STEP and MOD, What does that mean!
 

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Joined
Jul 22, 2002
Messages
21,679
Location
Bowie, Md.
#11
Actually when you open a group up in FreeScan, those are 2 columns you will see, and if you're talking about a conventional group, the user guide has it defined...

Freescan Create Group - The RadioReference Wiki

Mod is the operating mode (maybe FMN in some cases), and Step is the spacing between channels (for VHF narrowband, I believe that's 7.5 khz)

To help you along, you can see the list of exempted services in the FAQ section of;

Narrowbanding - The RadioReference Wiki

from our glossary...Mike
 

ScanMaine

Was MaineRadioMan
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 24, 2013
Messages
1,481
Location
Dresden Maine
#12
Actually when you open a group up in FreeScan, those are 2 columns you will see, and if you're talking about a conventional group, the user guide has it defined...

Freescan Create Group - The RadioReference Wiki

Mod is the operating mode (maybe FMN in some cases), and Step is the spacing between channels (for VHF narrowband, I believe that's 7.5 khz)

To help you along, you can see the list of exempted services in the FAQ section of;

Narrowbanding - The RadioReference Wiki

from our glossary...Mike


Thanks I will do some reading tomorrow when i get back in the COM COM! Thanks again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top