• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

front panel programmable?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KK4ELO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
332
Location
Smithville, Tennessee
Can the spectras and syntor x9000s be modded or programmed to be fpp? ( for ham use only) i ask because sometimes i travel and have a couple of these in my truck already and thought it would be cool to find local freqs on the spot without having to reprogram every new freq i find.

thanks
 

W2NJS

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2006
Messages
1,934
Location
Washington DC
Someone will take exception to this, but in general PS personnel don't need FPP. FPP, I believe, grew out of a need of one particular service to have it; that's the forestry services of the Feds and the states, where exceptions in the rules exist to allow it, otherwise, as you already know, it's not supposed to be an available feature on common, FCC regulated, commercial radios. Hams like it and use it because first, it's convenient and, second, because they're allowed to use it. FPP is still not a "total" feature on commercial radios because there are some things, such as scan lists, which you can't set up via FPP but must go to the software to change or set up. The ham portables and mobiles, OTOH, allow us to modify all radio parameters from the front panel, so I guess they're the only real "totally FPP" radios.
 

KK4ELO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
332
Location
Smithville, Tennessee
whats with this cowthief???? they mention him on bat boards too. i just want to know if its possible... sorry if im stepping on someones toes on a touchy subject.
 

KK4ELO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
332
Location
Smithville, Tennessee
ok, i asked a question in good faith to get an honest, experienced answer, and i get all this crap about a cowthief. all i wanted was a simole yes or no answer. mods, please close this thread. i dont want a convo thrad started about someone i dont know about.
 

KK4ELO

Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2009
Messages
332
Location
Smithville, Tennessee
your right. i did get my answer, and i appreciate the responses. but i subscribe to my threads via email, and i get enough of them as it is. i dont want my thread hyjacked oversome guy that " did the impossible". thank you much for theanswers guys, but dont run it for the guy you dont like. i got my answer, no discussion needed. thread closed.
 

W2NJS

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2006
Messages
1,934
Location
Washington DC
To the best of my knowledge, there has never been an FPP Motorola mobile.

BK? Yes.
I believe that the current Motorola APX7500 mobile can be flashed for FPP, so up until the 7500 came along you're correct. I don't think you'll find a reference to this capability in the spec sheets, however. The FPP unit works with the 03, 05, and 09 control heads.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top