G-4 800mhz shortage

Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
94
Location
port huron mi
#1
I live in michigan and a lot of agencies are switching to the G-4 . There waiting months for the G-4 i spoke to several dealers across the country and they have G-1 & G-5 . But getting there hands on the G-4 is extremely hard, there extremely expensive. Has anyone ever had issues with the G-4
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,580
Location
Southeastern Michigan
#2
I live in michigan and a lot of agencies are switching to the G-4 . There waiting months for the G-4 i spoke to several dealers across the country and they have G-1 & G-5 . But getting there hands on the G-4 is extremely hard, there extremely expensive. Has anyone ever had issues with the G-4
Out of the 30-ish we have had for my FD, we have had a few USB port/cord issues, and an excessive number of batteries swell.

Other than that, the issues have been addressed by firmware and programming updates.

Sent using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,348
Location
Dallas, TX
#4
The first G4 i got (now over 2 years old) started to have the swelling issue with battery. Unication made replaced it for me. I know a while back it was brought up that they switched from Li-Poly to Li-Ion batteries. So im thinking if its older then a year it has the different battery tech and batteries could go bad.
 

Uni1

Unication Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 1, 2017
Messages
57
Location
DFW Texas
#5
I live in michigan and a lot of agencies are switching to the G-4 . There waiting months for the G-4 i spoke to several dealers across the country and they have G-1 & G-5 . But getting there hands on the G-4 is extremely hard, there extremely expensive. Has anyone ever had issues with the G-4
There is no G4 shortage. We have plenty currently in stock.
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,580
Location
Southeastern Michigan
#6
I live in michigan and a lot of agencies are switching to the G-4 . There waiting months for the G-4 i spoke to several dealers across the country and they have G-1 & G-5 . But getting there hands on the G-4 is extremely hard, there extremely expensive. Has anyone ever had issues with the G-4
Which dealers have you tried?

Sent using Tapatalk
 

rvacs

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 3, 2003
Messages
260
Location
Round Rock, TX
#9
Google up Command Communications out of Spring, TX
- that is where I got my G4 with Phase II - Great Support and fast shipment.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
94
Location
port huron mi
#10
Google up Command Communications out of Spring, TX
- that is where I got my G4 with Phase II - Great Support and fast shipment.
I checked, there not authorized to do mpscs.
Once you get the G-4 there only 1 dealer that can set in up .it's a $ 1.500 setup fee we have 83 counties with 64 talkgroups. As example my county has 8 all call groups, plus the fire departments,
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
1,526
Location
Attleboro, MA
#11
If you're buying it on your own, why not just program it yourself? I live in Massachusetts, but have Detroit and Wayne County programmed in my G5 for when I'm out there.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
1,526
Location
Attleboro, MA
#12
I checked, there not authorized to do mpscs.
Once you get the G-4 there only 1 dealer that can set in up .it's a $ 1.500 setup fee we have 83 counties with 64 talkgroups. As example my county has 8 all call groups, plus the fire departments,
Is that $1.50 per channel/talkgroup or $1,500.00 for the preconfigured statewide codeplug? Sounds like a little bit of price gouging which should be reported to the Attortney General to me.
 

iMONITOR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 20, 2006
Messages
5,826
Location
MACOMB, MI.
#13
I have talked to alot of unication dealers , and the only 1 authorized by mpscs is Capital communications out of Indianapolis. Comsource doesn't carry them , or Land mobile services, or Bearcom .

Why is the State Of Michigan single sourcing them to begin with? Gee...let me guess?
 

KM4WLV

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
1,047
Location
Rockwell (Rowan County), NC
#14
I checked, there not authorized to do mpscs.
Once you get the G-4 there only 1 dealer that can set in up .it's a $ 1.500 setup fee we have 83 counties with 64 talkgroups. As example my county has 8 all call groups, plus the fire departments,
This statement has peaked my curiosity as well. Since it's just a pager I'm also curious as to why it couldn't be purchased elsewhere and programmed by you. I understand there may be a preconfigured codeplug but it shouldn't be hard to build one from scratch, just maybe time consuming. And, which it may just be me, but $1500 to setup/program these devices is nuts, especially if the codeplug is already put together. As far as call alerting do you guys use Quick Call 2 at all or does each unit have a specific ID that is paged when a call is dispatched? If it's the latter I could maybe see the regulation on purchase.......
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2011
Messages
94
Location
port huron mi
#15
This statement has peaked my curiosity as well. Since it's just a pager I'm also curious as to why it couldn't be purchased elsewhere and programmed by you. I understand there may be a preconfigured codeplug but it shouldn't be hard to build one from scratch, just maybe time consuming. And, which it may just be me, but $1500 to setup/program these devices is nuts, especially if the codeplug is already put together. As far as call alerting do you guys use Quick Call 2 at all or does each unit have a specific ID that is paged when a call is dispatched? If it's the latter I could maybe see the regulation on purchase.......
It is set up through mpscs, and there is no qc2 , it is specific id
 

N6ML

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
356
Location
SF Bay / Delta, CA
#19
It probably depends on what it's to be used for. If it's for personal/hobby use, sure, buy your own and program it... but if it's for official agency use, accountability may need to be considered.......
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
1,526
Location
Attleboro, MA
#20
It set up through the mpscs. And attorney General has no say in it.
The MSPCS may have designated what frequencies are to be included in the G4s that THEY purchased. They may even have stated that the particular programming is proprietary and asked the radio shop not to share it. The radio shop does not have to share it, or they can if they don't necessarily care about the contract. They could also develop a similar but slightly different programming and offer it for sale to private owners.

However, charging roughly 60 times the going price for programming of a unit is something I am sure the AG would be interested in.

I'm not sure what you're trying to do. Are you looking to buy a pager from them with programming that is proprietary or at least discouraged and they said they had no pagers? When they said they had no pagers, did you start looking to buy a pager and have it programmed by them and they quoted an outrageous price because they want to discourage you from having that proprietary programming or doing business with you? It really sounds like they are trying to avoid selling you a unit.

There seems to be an issue where Unication says there are plenty of G4s around but you can't seem to find them.

The biggest question is; the info is readily available, why don't you buy from another dealer and program it yourself?

Also, last time I checked, I had programmed the MSPCS info into my G5 https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=100
 
Top