• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

G5 TG scan not stopping on transmissions already in-progress

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 10, 2003
Messages
164
#1
G5 TG-scan not stopping on transmissions already in-progress

Hello!

Say I wondered if any of you have encountered what's described below and if you know of a setting that could be causing this.

When performing a trunking talkgroup non-priority scan, I have noticed the radio does not play any audio on transmissions unless it catches the transmission from the very beginning. Already in-progress transmissions are being ignored. For example, say the radio is receiving a call on the Fire Dispatch talkgroup and simultaneously on the same system, the Police Dispatch talkgroup becomes active also, the Fire Dispatch traffic ends while Police Dispatch is still transmitting, the radio will not scan over to the Police TG and play the traffic as it is mid-transmission. Only the next (new) transmission from the beginning will be picked up by the radio. It's not a matter of the delay setting holding on the old TG as I've tested for that.

I have verified this behavior multiple times using a secondary radio (Uniden BCD436HP) for confirmation the received Police Dispatch traffic well beyond the scan hold delay duration after the Fire transmission ended . . yet the G5 never opened the audio on the Police Dispatch channel, until the NEXT transmission by Police.. using the example I mentioned above. I've seen the behavior on multiple talkgroups not just the one cited in the example.

I have noticed even in monitor mode, all transmissions received seem to be only from the very beginning, never already in-progress.

Obviously this is a concern as it means missed traffic.

Edit: I'm on latest Firmware - R11P.

Thanks for your input!
 
Last edited:

k3sls

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
243
Location
FM03qu North Myrtle Beach SC
#2
Hello!

Say I wondered if any of you have encountered what's described below and if you know of a setting that could be causing this.

When performing a trunking talkgroup non-priority scan, I have noticed the radio does not play any audio on transmissions unless it catches the transmission from the very beginning. Already in-progress transmissions are being ignored. For example, say the radio is receiving a call on the Fire Dispatch talkgroup and simultaneously on the same system, the Police Dispatch talkgroup becomes active also, the Fire Dispatch traffic ends while Police Dispatch is still transmitting, the radio will not scan over to the Police TG and play the traffic as it is mid-transmission. Only the next (new) transmission from the beginning will be picked up by the radio. It's not a matter of the delay setting holding on the old TG as I've tested for that.

I have verified this behavior multiple times using a secondary radio (Uniden BCD436HP) for confirmation which received Police Dispatch traffic well beyond the scan hold delay duration after the Fire transmission ended . . yet the G5 never opened the audio on the Police Dispatch channel, until the NEXT transmission by Police.. using the example I mentioned above. I've seen the behavior on multiple talkgroups not just the one cited in the example.

I have noticed even in monitor mode, all transmissions received seem to be only from the very beginning, never already in-progress.

Edit: I'm on latest Firmware - R11P.

Thanks for your input!
Just a guess…do you have ONLY the control freqs programmed on the G5, but ALL site freqs programmed on the Uniden?
 

sparklehorse

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 15, 2003
Messages
1,098
Location
Portland, Oregon
#4
I have noticed this with my G5 as well. As far as I know there is no setting change that would fix it. You could try adding the other system frequencies, but I doubt that would matter. I could be wrong, but I think it's just the way the radio is designed to scan. It seems to only respond to channel grants. This behavior doesn't bother me, I feel that while it does miss some things it still catches plenty of traffic on my local system.

.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
134
Location
Ohio's Snow Belt
#5
I have also noticed exactly what you described with my G5...

And while it does annoy me quite a bit (along with the insanely loud encryption garble, and the inability to hold or lockout a talkgroup), I still have never owned a scanner that came anywhere close to my G5 in terms of reception. This 'pager' had my jaw on the floor for the entire first week I owned it.

I hope some of these little quirks eventually get fixed in future updates. But even if they don't, I'll likely buy another one.
 

Thunderknight

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 31, 2008
Messages
1,810
Location
Bletchley Park
#6
I haven't noticed that in particular with my G5 (not saying it doesn't do it, just haven't noticed) but I have noticed it skips a transmission in progress when powering on. It's probably the same root cause.

In the LMR world, entering a transmission in process is called "late entry". I believe subscriber units can late enter based on update messages sent on the CC.
 
Joined
May 10, 2003
Messages
164
#7
I haven't noticed that in particular with my G5 (not saying it doesn't do it, just haven't noticed) but I have noticed it skips a transmission in progress when powering on. It's probably the same root cause.

In the LMR world, entering a transmission in process is called "late entry". I believe subscriber units can late enter based on update messages sent on the CC.
Good to know!

I view absence of late-entry as a concern . . especially since the radio has to rely on 100% successful decode of the initial channel grant, and in a mobile environment that is no guarantee. Late-entry would sure add to the robustness.

Thanks all for your input!!
 

jimf

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
43
Location
Hanover, VA
#8
I notice this situation the first day I used the G5. It is a great radio and at least for me solves the issues with my local system. Having said that, I miss between 5 and 10 transmission an hour. I have confirmed this by using two other scanners and PRO96Com. I hear the transmission on the scanners and see the channel grant on PRO96Com. I have never missed two transmissions in a row, and I cannot pinpoint any particular cause. I would have to agree that if the radio misses the channel grant, it will not receive any of the transmission.
 

cpetraglia

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 14, 2003
Messages
775
Location
Fairfax, VA
#9
My G4 is the same. I have entered all the frequencies and it is not necessary. It doesn't help. If I don't hear the beginning of a transmission, I am still very happy that I can hear anything compared to my scanners terrible LSM reception. I can live with it.
 

cpetraglia

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 14, 2003
Messages
775
Location
Fairfax, VA
#11
No. But I sent a PM to Unication Dave who said he knows about it and is working on it. I never did ask how he knows about it. Could it be my thread, or is it possible there are other systems causing this problem. As this point, I have a $1000.00 setup (Pager and Base/Charger) that are useless. I am still able to listen in on some distant counties, but's that's not what I bought it for. Thankfully, my Relm portable is picking up the slack and I am getting a quote on another Relm.
 
Joined
May 10, 2003
Messages
164
#12
I spent the past week carrying the G5 as my primary radio and even when parked on an FD dispatch TG I had two instances of a completely missed dispatch presumably due to the radio missing the initial channel grant due to an RF gremlin. (Uniden scanner I was in earshot of caught the dispatch when the G5 didn't). I would expect late-entry would resolve this problem. I consider it a significant one.
 

hiddenrun

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 16, 2015
Messages
70
Location
Commonwealth of Pa
#14
Glad I read this before buying. There's someone named "Ryan Spencer" who has posted a series of videos showing other flaws.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCqgRAFhuBotYIHzEo-MzoHg
This "Ryan Spencer" is obviously a nay sayer.

Take the time to read ALL the positive posts and positive things that actual users are saying about the unication g4 and g5.

Sure there are some changes we as users would like to see and we have seen several improvements already through firmware upgrades.

Joker? Really? Did he forget what this unit was marketed for in the first place. I think it does very well considering it is a pager and CAN be used for scanning.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
1,913
Location
parma,ohio
#15
i have the G5V mine works GREAT i use a Motorola Astro Spectra Plus for Non-Afflilation scanning as my base radio and the G5 picks up before the Spectra Plus lol Lucky Me.
 
Joined
May 18, 2004
Messages
96
Location
Batavia, Ohio
#16
Even with the late entry issue I am hearing significantly more accurate (back and forth) PS traffic on my G4 than on the BCD536 and 436 combined.

I'm also now hearing 4 adjacent county's systems accurately where before I was lucky to hear just 1 adjacent county.
 

tumegpc

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 6, 2003
Messages
795
Location
Southern Oregon
#17
Glad I read this before buying. There's someone named "Ryan Spencer" who has posted a series of videos showing other flaws.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCqgRAFhuBotYIHzEo-MzoHg
My excitement with this radio had faded somewhat too and I think that some of the issues Ryan Spencer has
pointed out are very important for first responders. You're talking about $700.00 for a radio that is almost impossible to change any settings while receiving. On a positive note, the G5 handles simulcast distortion best out of any scanner that I've owned.
 

Unication_David

Unication Representative
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 8, 2016
Messages
208
Location
Raceland, KY
#18
My excitement with this radio had faded somewhat too and I think that some of the issues Ryan Spencer has
pointed out are very important for first responders. You're talking about $700.00 for a radio that is almost impossible to change any settings while receiving. On a positive note, the G5 handles simulcast distortion best out of any scanner that I've owned.
it is possible with current firmware to make changes in the menu easier when monitoring a 700/800 system... unscrew the antenna. It is not the most elegant solution but it should allow you to make the changes you need while waiting for a release that fixes the issue.
 

RRR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
1,169
#19
it is possible with current firmware to make changes in the menu easier when monitoring a 700/800 system... unscrew the antenna. It is not the most elegant solution but it should allow you to make the changes you need while waiting for a release that fixes the issue.
Ha ha, I love it. And I love my Unication pager (Not "radio")

Looking forward to Phase2, DMR and TG hold and delete. That would make it top notch for sure!

Thanks for an excellent, high quality product
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top