General BCT15X Instructions

Status
Not open for further replies.

BeeRich

Premium Subscriber
Hi folks. I bought a BCT15X and I'm having a horrible time trying to figure it out. I'm an amateur radio operator and software developer, so I'm not new to this type of stuff. Far from it. The problem stems from the fact that the manual for this unit is horrible. Online information that I have reviewed doesn't make it any easier.

Let me present what I have done so far.

- I have it talking to Freescan on my computer. That isn't a problem from what I see.

- I've created 3 systems called G20, Police, and Emerg. Quick Keys for those are 0, 1, and 2. Startup Keys are 0, 1, and 2 for them, accordingly.

- In each of those systems I have 4 groups, each assigned as 1, 2, 3, 4.

- each group has frequencies with PL tones, etc. They have been sent to the unit, and be found by using the menu/program system/.

- Qck Save Cnv Sys is in there too as a system, however it is locked out and empty. It's Quick Key is 99.

So when I start up the unit, it goes to "Alabama" and starts scanning (SCAN). Display has S0:1*------* showing, with PL down below for police.

What I want to do is run through these 3 systems and run through the groups that are not locked out. I don't live in Alabama, I live in Ontario, which is set in all of the State assignments.

Can anybody shed some light as to what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers

kilowa22

The BCT15X has built in preprogrammed services:
PL = Police Local
DT = Dept of Transportation
Press the POL key numerous times to turn them on and off.
HP = State Highway Patrol
BT = Bear Tracker
Press the HP key numerous times to turn them on and off.

To select your State press the Func then depress the VOL knob
and select your state or province.

BeeRich

Premium Subscriber