• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

GPS scanning: heavy geocoding

Status
Not open for further replies.

c5corvette

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
702
Location
*REBANDED*
From the WIKI it suggests... "not all geopolitical areas are perfect circles. You can modify the shape of the system by entering multiple sites for the system (even though the system might have only one site) and use different location settings for each site. For example, stack two circles to make a tall, narrow scan area for the system."


Does anyone have a good method for laying out systems like this? I am looking for a map software program, etc. that will let me look at a location on a map and drop a pin or reference point and will draw a radius (circle) and drop a couple other points to make a visual of the tall narrow scan area. Once I have perfected the area I want, I can get all the coordinates for all the reference points and add them as sites in the radio. Anyone got an easy way to do this, or a nice piece of software that allows you to do it? It would be nice if the map went down to the level of showing county, city and town boundries too, so you could make any kind of shape layout needed.
 
Last edited:

nosoup4u

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 30, 2002
Messages
1,884
Location
High Bridge, NJ
FreeScan has the GPS System Plotter which will show you all your systems plotted out on a map. Unfortunately, it doesn't help you while you are trying to plot them.
 

c5corvette

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
702
Location
*REBANDED*
I've found a way in Microsoft Streets and Trips to draw circles and adjust the radius but havent figured out how to identify the center of the radius by lat/long.

Anyone know how to do this or know another program that does this?
 

n5ims

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
3,676
Not sure about your sig line.

"To Ø or not to O – that is the question." Do you really intend to say "To 'use encryption' or not to 'transmit in the clear' - that is the question"? It almost sounds like you've already decided to use encryption!
 

datainmotion

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 9, 2001
Messages
2,266
Location
Colorado
I've found a way in Microsoft Streets and Trips to draw circles and adjust the radius but havent figured out how to identify the center of the radius by lat/long.

Anyone know how to do this or know another program that does this?
I've been using Delorme Topo for this ever since getting my 996T years ago...as a matter of fact, I had to readjust the Boulder Co. radius tonight (with Delorme) for more complete coverage.

You can drag any size radius you want from any pre-determined point and tag it with Lat/Lon before or after dragging out the radius. What I usually do once I've done that is to change the tag to the site name which is then hyperlinked to a spreadsheet with specific site info on it.
 
Last edited:

c5corvette

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
702
Location
*REBANDED*
Yes! Frankly, I was wondering how long it would take for someone to read that correctly!

Whether 'tis nobler in the mind to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune, or to take arms against a sea of troubles, thou encryption key be update, so civils in the capital can't hear ye."

Time to change the signature again.
 

c5corvette

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
702
Location
*REBANDED*
I've been using Delorme Topo for this ever since getting my 996T years ago...as a matter of fact, I had to readjust the Boulder Co. radius tonight (with Delorme) for more complete coverage.
So it lets you draw and adjust circles, tells you the radius and pinponts the centers coordinates for you?

Can it be done with Street Atlas too?
 
Last edited:

datainmotion

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 9, 2001
Messages
2,266
Location
Colorado
So it lets you draw and adjust circles, tells you the radius and pinponts the centers coordinates for you?
Yes sir. Typically, you pick a center point and then drag out the radius from there. Once that is done, it marks the point you started from. Right clicking on that point gives you various options for tagging (i.e. - Lat/Lon, pre-defined text, user-defined text, etc.).

Can it be done with Street Atlas too?
I believe so (its been awhile since I've used Street Atlas).

Also, FYI - I use Topo 6 (circa 2006?), so you can imagine the improved feature set now...
 

datainmotion

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 9, 2001
Messages
2,266
Location
Colorado
Here's an example - I've dragged out a 5.0 mile radius from a site on Green Mountain (see lower left portion of circle).
Also, as you may notice, you can just type in the radius you want from a Lat/Lon you provide and it will draw it for you (see fields to the left of the overview map in the lower right-hand corner)
 

Attachments

Last edited:

c5corvette

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2008
Messages
702
Location
*REBANDED*
Allright. Thanks everyone.

I was able to do it in Delorme.

In Streets & Trips, I can only figure out how to draw the circle, I can't figure out how to get it to tell me the center point coordinates.
 

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Under "Tools" in the menu bar is "Location Sensor" which will give the coordinates of where you point the "cursor".
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top