Handheld wideband receiver for UHF wildlife tracking?

Hi all,

I'm a wildlife biologist, so very new to the world of radios/receivers, so please forgive any missteps on my part! I'm hoping to get a recommendation for a handheld wideband receiver - we track animals with UHF radio backpacks (frequencies to the tune of 916 MHz). We generally use the Alinco DJ-X11T, which has unfortunately been discontinued and is now very hard to get ahold of.

Our equipment has to be handheld and easy to take to the field, and needs good directionality (we use the UHF signal to track the animals in the field, so the more specific we can make the range, the better chance we have of triangulating a device). A great perk would be a BNC coax connector to hook up the receiver with a Yagi. Our budget is max $500, but in conservation, the more economical we can be the better.

If anyone has recommendations or can point me in the right direction I'd be so grateful!

RFI-EMI-GUY

Having the technical details model serial number FCC certification if any, of the transmitters would be helpful in making a recommendation. Are they sending any data? Are they simply sending on off keying like CW? The Alinco has SSB and CW mode, so it has a BFO that would make detecting on off keying more sensitive.

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
We had a group doing that and they were using older Icom portable receivers. This was probably 20 years ago. Current models are the Icom IC-R6 or the IC-R30:

BNC connectors have fallen out of favor in the hand held radio world, but it's easy to either use an adapter cable, or get a new connector crimped on your coax cable.

If you felt comfortable sharing which agency/group you work for, there may be someone here on this site that could assist you directly. Building custom cables isn't a big deal.

RFI-EMI-GUY

We had a group doing that and they were using older Icom portable receivers. This was probably 20 years ago. Current models are the Icom IC-R6 or the IC-R30: