HELP: Buy Pro-106, or Keep Pro-164???

Status
Not open for further replies.

JulietAlphaKilo

Premium Subscriber
Hey folks, this is my first time posting a thread on this forum (after having nearly exhausted the Search Function), and I have a very important decision to make in regards to a scanner.

I asked for a Scanner for Christmas, as my Great Uncle has been deep into the field for a long time now, and in addition to such, I am ALWAYS left wondering what in the world is going in whenever the Police Helo is circling overhead, or the sirens are blazing everywhere. I live in a highly populated area, so things are definitely off and popping quite often.

Originally I asked for a Pro-106, because I felt the need for a portable scanner with trunking ability, and the ability to decode Digital Signals. Although I do not retain any great amount of experience or knowledge in this field, in terms of technicalities, I do remember my Uncle describing the loss of Public Safety Airwave traffic after his local Departments switched to Digital Comm. Systems.

So anyways, my old man bought me a Pro-164. He told me that Radio Shack was completely Out-of-Stock on the Pro-106's, and it seems as if this is the case nearly everywhere. I was definitely excited to receive this gift, but I was, and do remain concerned about what I can actually pick-up on this system.

The area I am going to be scanning most often is Fairfax County, Virginia. I checked the RR Directory, and it states that Fairfax County Public Safety Services are Trunking with the Motorola Type II SmartZone. It states that this system is both Analog, and APCO-25 Digital.

So my question really is, what are the Pros and Cons of the Pro-164, vs the Pro-106? I ask this, because I would like to know whether or not I should keep this scanner, or should I return it, and put its refunded value towards the Pro-106?