Help with trunking system (PRO-2096)

Status
Not open for further replies.

eesz34

I just acquired an RS PRO-2096 and would like to listen to police/fire/etc. The problem is I'm very new at this. I'm electronics literate, but scanner illiterate. I do have a programming link I sort of made and can use Win96 or Arc96 to communicate with it. I've read a lot about trunking systems and believe this scanner will work for my locale, but I'm clearly missing something. Now for the facts:

The database says that my area's system voice is "APCO-25 Common Air Interface Exclusive" and system type is "Project 25 Phase I". The simulcast frequencies near me are in the low 850 MHz range. As I understand, I only need to enter the control channel frequencies into the scanner. If I tune into the primary control channel in FM mode, I hear a lot of noise with occasional brief periods of silence when the FM indicator changes to DG. The alternate control channels are much quieter and stay in FM. This seems like a good sign I think?

In Arc96, I enter the primary and alternate control channels into "Frequencies", set each Mode to MO, put something into alpha tag and lockout the remaining rows. In Talkgroups for the same bank, I enter some talkgroup IDs, add an alpha tag, and lockout the remaining rows. In Settings for that bank, I make sure that bank is enabled, bank type is Motorola, check Closed Mode, and leave the rest. This gets uploaded to the scanner.

Then what? The best I can figure is I press PROG and select the primary control channel, which displays the frequency and tag I entered, shows MO in the upper right and makes the same noisy audio. But that's all it does. It continually makes this same static diesel engine noise.