• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

HomePatrol II

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 23, 2016
Messages
8
#1
I just recently bought a Home Patrol 2 for myself to be able to monitor the Romeoville Police Dept. I have the setting set on Will County, municipality and communities - Romeoville and there is two channels one for fire and one for police. I get their fire calls but have yet to heard one police interaction. Can anyone explain this and help me out?
 

fxdscon

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
3,855
#2
I just recently bought a Home Patrol 2 for myself to be able to monitor the Romeoville Police Dept. I have the setting set on Will County, municipality and communities - Romeoville and there is two channels one for fire and one for police. I get their fire calls but have yet to heard one police interaction. Can anyone explain this and help me out?
From the main screen on the Home Patrol, select MENU --> ADVANCED MENU --> scroll down arrow --> VERSION INFORMATION

What does it say there for the date of the database?
 

fxdscon

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
3,855
#4
Database version--7/20/14
You need to update your database to reflect the recent changes to the system you are trying to monitor. Database updates are available for your scanner every Monday. The database in your scanner is over 2 years behind the times.

First... be certain you are using the latest version of the Sentinel Software on your computer:

HomePatrolSentinel < HomePatrol < TWiki


Then check page 6 of your owner's manual for update procedures for firmware and database updates:

http://info.uniden.com/twiki/pub/HomePatrol/HomePatrol2/HomePatrol-IIom.pdf


.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2016
Messages
8
#5
I have updated everything according to your post. I will see if I get any of their calls. If not what would be the next step in figuring this out?
 

fxdscon

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 15, 2007
Messages
3,855
#7
I have updated everything according to your post. I will see if I get any of their calls. If not what would be the next step in figuring this out?
Also... be sure the appropriate "service types" for the agencies you wish to monitor are enabled in the menu.

.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2003
Messages
2,807
Location
ILL
#8
Romeoville PD is on Starcom tower 113-Will Co TG1991....There 159 VHF freqy is hardly ever used except for the PWorks is on there....There 156.165 is there new EMA freqy.....159.2325 is there FD freqy....
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2003
Messages
2,807
Location
ILL
#9
PS: You can't rely on the "database" as there are many wrong freqys on there ....I have tried to update as much as i can for Will Co....
 

danzan77

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 28, 2012
Messages
53
Location
Toledo Ohio
#10
not real sure but id try the full database to just see what you hear, make sure law talk and law tac
are selected keep it in range. I'm trying to figure out how to remove Canada or skip scanning it. also some of the other states.
I noticed if you select to much it says it will take to long to scan and prompts you to reduce range or services?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top