• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

How does the Pro-96 have 5000 channels?

Status
Not open for further replies.

xpawel15x

Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2005
Messages
795
It has 10 banks of 100 channels, 1000 channels all together, how is there 5000 channels? Can anyone explain how this virtual memory stuff works... Manual is not very informative.
 

DonS

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2003
Messages
4,105
Location
Franktown, CO
xpawel15x said:
It has 10 banks of 100 channels, 1000 channels all together, how is there 5000 channels?
The PRO-96 has ten banks of 50 channels each, for a total of 500 channels in its "working memory" (the memory/programming that's active when you're monitoring).

The scanner also has 10 "V-Scanner" folders, each of which holds a copy of the "working memory". (It has 11, if you count the "scratchpad" folder).

10 V-Scanner folders x 500 channels = 5000 channels, though only 500 can be active at any one time.
 

xpawel15x

Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2005
Messages
795
DonS said:
The PRO-96 has ten banks of 50 channels each, for a total of 500 channels in its "working memory" (the memory/programming that's active when you're monitoring).

The scanner also has 10 "V-Scanner" folders, each of which holds a copy of the "working memory". (It has 11, if you count the "scratchpad" folder).

10 V-Scanner folders x 500 channels = 5000 channels, though only 500 can be active at any one time.
Yeah I meant to say 10 banks of 50 channels. Do you save and load a new folder, is that how it works? How do I load a brand new folder?
 

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,959
Location
West of Charlotte NC
The older pro94 had 1000ch broken up in two "groups" of 500ch with 10 banks of 50ch each. You would choose between the A or B group (something like that, haven't used mine in years) and it is a nice way to have a ton of banks organized for quick use.
 

jakegday

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Jun 24, 2006
Messages
145
so are you only alllowed 50 TRS talkgroups in a bank? or just 50 of the TRS's frequencies?? how exactly does that work?

only 50 tgid's per bank with only 10 banks all at once seems a little inconvienient......
 

BaLa

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 10, 2004
Messages
1,502
Location
Butler, Mo (few days a month lol)
xpawel15x said:
Yeah I meant to say 10 banks of 50 channels. Do you save and load a new folder, is that how it works? How do I load a brand new folder?
You should try taking a look at the manual.

PGM FUNC PGM
2 Load Press a Number 0-9


If you want to keep you current config/channels it is important you save it before you load the next V-Folder.
 

loumaag

Silent Key - Aug 2014
Joined
Oct 20, 2002
Messages
12,911
Location
Katy, TX
jakegday said:
so are you only alllowed 50 TRS talkgroups in a bank? or just 50 of the TRS's frequencies?? how exactly does that work?

only 50 tgid's per bank with only 10 banks all at once seems a little inconvienient......
Talk groups and frequencies are not the same thing.

The Pro-96/2096 has 150 TG's per bank, broken up in 5 sub-banks. Based on the method that must be used to select each sub-bank to turn in on or off, you may as well just say it has 150 available and leave it at that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top