• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

How to get Coax inside w/o drilling

Status
Not open for further replies.

btritch

Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
1,876
Location
Paragould/Greene County AR
I don't know about using that but I have mine run through just a window itself, I have a window A/C unit in the window also so it works pretty well.. I don't know how that would be compatible..I suppose you'd have to have adapters on the end of it to narrow it down to your type of cable, I haven't a clue how it works though...
 

jim202

Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2002
Messages
2,550
Location
New Orleans region
Those straps use F connectors and is designed for the cable TV and satellite market.
Not real fond of them and if you have a tight fitting door or window that you open
much, your going to chew them up. Had one on my sliding patio door and it was always
moving and had to be put back to where I wanted it for the door to close.

Jim



cowboymike1971 said:
Hey i came across this in a google search for something that would get coax into the house without drilling thru the building. Would this work well?


www.solidsignal.com/prod_display.asp?PROD=WRFC200

Would like to hear some ideas or replys to this. thanks...
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
157
Location
Bellevue,Washington
Ok thanks for that input. In my personal opinion i was kind of skeptical about it. Seems like it might be a pain more than anything. Was curious to see if anyone else was using them.
 

n5ims

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
3,676
My daughter uses these for DirecTV in her apartment and they work OK. With them running through a window that he nearly never opened, they appear to last pretty well.

While I'd normally not recommend them due to the loss and reliability issues, they work well for her so I’d say use them when necessary, but only when other, better, routes are not available.
 

K4DHR

Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2007
Messages
131
Location
Olive Branch, MS
Running a cable through a soffit or ridge vent vent is also a way to avoid having to drill through an exterior wall, since both are usually completely open to the attic. Then its just a matter of dropping it down into a wall.
 

af5rn

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2008
Messages
1,059
Location
N. Tex / S. Fla
K4DHR said:
Running a cable through a soffit or ridge vent vent is also a way to avoid having to drill through an exterior wall, since both are usually completely open to the attic. Then its just a matter of dropping it down into a wall.
That's the most feasible for most homeowners. But if you do that, be sure you leave a drip loop in the coax before it enters the attic. Otherwise, rain is going to ride the coax straight into your attic, and eventually through your ceiling.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
228
I used to run into those flat cables all the time when I did cable tv installs and I'm not real fond of them as well. There were almost always ingress problems (ghosting on broadcast channels), weak signal problems (grainy picture), digital cable was always heavily pixilated and cable modems wouldn't work at all. (I understand some people have some luck with them, I've never seen it personally.)

If all that was happening to the (already) heavily amplified CATV signal, imagine what's happening to all those far away transmitters you're trying to pick up with your receiver!

I like that idea above with the plexiglas feed-thru, that's pure genius.
 

57Bill

Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2006
Messages
170
Location
Cleveland, OH
If you have a double-hung window, close it down on a 2X4, and drill the hole in the 2X4. Of course, fit the 2x4 snuggly, end-to-end across the width of the window.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
157
Location
Bellevue,Washington
OK guys, lets hear from ya. what are my options? I want to get my outdoor antenna up on my deck here but am renting and can't drill thru building. What options do i have? someone has to have conquered this dilemma... :)
 

DCMon

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2005
Messages
153
Location
SW Oregon
locked or not

57Bill said:
If you have a double-hung window, close it down on a 2X4, and drill the hole in the 2X4. Of course, fit the 2x4 snuggly, end-to-end across the width of the window.
How do you lock the window if you use this method.
 

zz0468

Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
5,957
Location
175 DME, HEC 358° Radial
DCMon said:
How do you lock the window if you use this method.
This is a variation of a method I use. I lock the window by driving a couple of screws into the frame so that the window won't open. It's a rarely opened window, but if it absolutely must be opened, I take the screws out.
 

ke5ldo

Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
58
I have used this product from . http://www.qsradio.com/Feed-Thru.jpg for almost 2 years. I have noticed NO increase in noise or fuel cost and it holds 2, or 4 antennas, or you canhave one made special order up to 12 antenna connections, be it, F, SO-239, or BNC, or a mixture.. Much cheaper than the MFJ lookalike.

:
 

scrotumola

Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2001
Messages
330
Location
So. Texas
DCMon said:
How do you lock the window if you use this method.
I've used this method before and to secure the window, I've cut another 1x2 to the length of the top of the window sill to the top of the now lifted window. The 1x2 will fit in the track of the side window sill. One other recommendation is to use a foam-type seal with sticky tape or other adhesive to seal the area between the top and lower window as well as the area around the 2x4 window insert (as seen in the top of the plexiglass pass-through in the above post.)

Good luck. Its worked very very well for me.

~S~
 

N8RUS

Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2005
Messages
126
Location
S. E. Ingham County MI
Do you have a basement window that can be removed and replaced with treated plywood cut to fit? Save the window to replace the plywood insert should you move. Drill away thru the wood insert.......
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2003
Messages
157
Location
Bellevue,Washington
I can't do anyhitng that requires modification to existing building or property. So no cutting or anyhting that invloves removing windows etc. I'm not in a basement Condo either. I'm on the 3rd floor.The window opens left to right not up and down. I'm thinking that plexi-glass style approach may be my best bet. unless there are other suggestions.. Either that or I will need to find the best mag mount scanner antenna for putting inside the window on the sill any suggestions on those would be appreciated as well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top