• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

HT1250 LS+ blinking display

Status
Not open for further replies.

wp4mps

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
5
Hi, I recently bought a Motorola HT1250 LS+ second hand on ebay and when I turn on the radio with a new battery, the only thing the radio does is flash on and off the display light. I see no message from the programming software other than to check the connection and to see if the radio is on. I checked the com port in my PC, I know is the right one. Could I have a bad EEPROM in my radio. Is there any hope for it?
 

wp4mps

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
5
Does anyone has any ideas?. I was hoping to use the radio at work... (EMS)
 

gary123

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2002
Messages
1,065
It sounds like a bad program to the radio. I would see if you can get a good image and program it to the radio. Also sometimes going into the service menu will fix some codeplug issues.
 

wp4mps

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2008
Messages
5
Ok, I forgot to mention that once I lock the battery on and turn the radio on, it's display and small light on top start blinking, but to turn the radio off, I have to detach the battery.

I've been told today that the radio was "stunned"?.
 

jcattey

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
6
I am having the same problem with my HT1250 with the screen and scan light blinking and the only way to get it to stop is to pull the battery. Any Ideas??
 

SteveC0625

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 24, 2009
Messages
2,565
Location
Northville, NY (Fulton County)
I am having the same problem with my HT1250 with the screen and scan light blinking and the only way to get it to stop is to pull the battery. Any Ideas??
Yup, sounds like it has been remotely disabled. Some manufacturers call it "stun/kill". Motorola calls it selective radio inhibit - allows system owner to disable stolen or missing radios.
 

jcattey

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
6
great...I picked this radio up on ebay, sounds like im SOL then...thank you for the heads up
 

MPFD535

Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Messages
44
Location
NJ
I might be wrong but I dont think you can stun a ht1250, you could if it had a option board, like passport, in it. but normally it says disabled. Have you tried to program it? If it had a eprom fault the new cps fixes it. I would read it and change the code plug and load it back in.
 

jcattey

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
6
So i turned it on and it came up EEPRM CS ERROR, I was unable use CPS R06.11.10 to reset the codeplug and ended up useing a code plug tool to flash a the same tamapa into the radio and it went back to blinking.....im at a loss. Now when i try to read the radio or resend the tamapa it says the radio is not responding. Im thinking this radio is gonna have to have a depot trip.
 

jcattey

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
6
The radio is not responding to the codeplug tool or the firmware tool. Just the blinking display, buttons and scan light. Only way it will stop is if the battery is pulled..... any other thoughts before I take this radio out back and shoot it?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top