• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

I-Call display on BCD396T

Status
Not open for further replies.

BigJimbo

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
210
Location
Dayton, Ohio
I noticed a couple of days ago that when I receive an I-call on one of the local Motorola Type II Analog systems, the radio ID's no longer appear. The only thing that shows up on the display now is 700000.

Prior to the update, I ALWAYS had radio ID numbers, without fail. For instance, a user with radio ID 716011 would start the I-Call. The display showed "716011." When the other party answered the I-Call, "716011-716019" would be displayed until the I-Call was ended.

Anyone else noticed this? Anyone have any answers why?
 

Viper43

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
3,301
I hadn't seen that following the update, still shows ICALL's like it should. Does it show them properly when using a logging program such as UASD or BCTool? If they show up right in those then I'd say it's a hardware issue.
 

rdale

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Joined
Feb 3, 2001
Messages
11,356
Location
Lansing, MI
You probably have something programmed in the alpha tag section for 700000, so make sure it's empty.
 

BigJimbo

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
210
Location
Dayton, Ohio
Viper, I'm afraid you might be right. I havent changed anything in it since the updates began...so there's nothing that I had done to it.
 

kg4pbd

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
791
I've had this problem since the beginning when restoring a system using ARC396.

If you entered the Icall wildcard manually via the radio's keyboard it showed the individual radio i.d. If you restored or loaded a system where you entered the wildcard numerically via your computer and ARC396 it would do just what you describe.

Try manually re-entering the wildcard from the scanner itself and see if that takes care of the issue.
 

ayaresr

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
134
I haven't really played with the ICall feature, as its not often used in my area. Am I understanding correctly that you can enter the radio id and alias it in a table? I want to say I'm not completely understanding this, but if this is the case, can radio id's be decoded during normal conversation, not only ICall?
I would like to see this possible, but don't think the unit is capable...perhaps I am wrong?
Thanks, Ryan
 

kg4pbd

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
791
ayaresr said:
I haven't really played with the ICall feature, as its not often used in my area. Am I understanding correctly that you can enter the radio id and alias it in a table? I want to say I'm not completely understanding this, but if this is the case, can radio id's be decoded during normal conversation, not only ICall?
I would like to see this possible, but don't think the unit is capable...perhaps I am wrong?
Thanks, Ryan
Only works on Icall. You can either enter the wildcard (which i forget at the moment..) as if you were entering a talkgroup i.d., make sure Icall is enabled on the system, and the radio will stop on I call's and show the individual radio i.d. You'll see the two i.d.'s alternate as each person talks. You can also enter an individual radio i.d. to limit Icall catches to that radio. Here in Charlotte it's used quite a bit.
 

Viper43

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
3,301
700000 is the wild card for motorola and i0000 for EDACS - the ARC firmware has an issue with the wild card. If you don't want to do it manually use the UASD software it will set it correctly.
 

BigJimbo

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Sep 23, 2003
Messages
210
Location
Dayton, Ohio
That did it!!

Restoring via UASD brought the I.D.'s back!!!

Thanks UPMan for the reminder. Thanks Viper for mentioning UASD.....

I probably would have restored via ARC.

Now.....to see if this cured the motorboating.........
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top