• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

IC-R3 report

Status
Not open for further replies.

cristisphoto

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
Messages
739
Hoi all.
I just got my unit on June 5th and I am VERY happy with it..
Before I begin let's make this VERY clear:
This unit is meant as a Video reciever.
ANY other feature sis a bonu,s
SOoooo
that having been said:
It's Awesome!!!
Thw newer shipped ones come with a 1000MAh
Ac adapter and a VERY soft but thick "case" in which to carry the unit..
I poweerd up the UNit while charging NO PROBLEM...
So if anyone is thinking about buying an IC-R3 of their own but the lack of a powerful enough adpater scared them away.
welll
Scannersunlimited.com has the newer ones..
I don't hthink they are aware of as such..
BUUT that is where I bought mine
SO anyways,
this a DAMN good unit
ANd I am VERY pleased!!!!!!
After a year or so of delaying for various Personal reasons
I am glad I jumped in the lake as soo to speak
Cause the water SHO is nice from where I am swimmming :D

Crista
 

CLB

Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
160
Location
Goose Creek SC
Got mine for $200 used. Bought a 1.8 amp cig. lighter charger to basically plug and play without draining the battery.

The DF'er is good for finding ELT's. Works better than the dinosaur LPER's the county bought us back in 1920...I mean 1990.
 

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,508
Location
West Michigan
cristisphoto said:
Hoi all.
I just got my unit on June 5th and I am VERY happy with it..
Before I begin let's make this VERY clear:
This unit is meant as a Video reciever.
ANY other feature sis a bonu,s
SOoooo
that having been said:
It's Awesome!!!
Thw newer shipped ones come with a 1000MAh
Ac adapter and a VERY soft but thick "case" in which to carry the unit..
I poweerd up the UNit while charging NO PROBLEM...
So if anyone is thinking about buying an IC-R3 of their own but the lack of a powerful enough adpater scared them away.
welll
Scannersunlimited.com has the newer ones..
I don't hthink they are aware of as such..
BUUT that is where I bought mine
SO anyways,
this a DAMN good unit
ANd I am VERY pleased!!!!!!
After a year or so of delaying for various Personal reasons
I am glad I jumped in the lake as soo to speak
Cause the water SHO is nice from where I am swimmming :D

Crista
Glad to hear you like the R-3 receiver. Many have put it down because it dosn't work well as a "scanner". How far are you from the transmitter/camera?
 

cristisphoto

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
Messages
739
RE how far Am I from the Cam ....

hus far I have yet to recive ANY wreless vids..
AS I am in the very EARLY stages of the learning curve...
I wish Icom or someone else would make a new generation of this .
I would camp out just to be one of the first to get one lol
Yeah as far as radio scanning I think it does OK
Buuut its not meant for that it designed for ATV, Wireless, and Commercial TV lolo
I have the BCD396T,Pro97 for radio transmissions...... lol
Hence I am Thus far VERY pleased with the IC-R3....

Crista
 

CLB

Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
160
Location
Goose Creek SC
Personally, I've found it a bit slow on the scan speed, but it is a pretty sensitive radio until you get to the ATV and 2.4 Ghz stuff.

I've had mine for about a year, and I'm yet to find a wireless vidcam. I even work at Charleston AFB/ Intl where you'd THINK there would be one there. It IS awesome for Milair and listening to the "uniform" frequencies from across the field though.

I've found the spectrum analyzer pretty handy as well. Good for sniffing out those "hidden" frequencies.

One major suckfest about this thing is the battery life. In case you haven't already figured out haha. I'm actually getting ready to attempt a PC interface with it here in a few minutes.
 

JESSERABBIT

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
906
Location
Charles Town, Jefferson Co, WV
I have one and really like it. The rumor has been that the video screen will go permanently black if the unit is used in the video mode while plugged into the charger. Prior to finding this out, I used it while charging. Did not notice any damage. Just stopped using TV screen while charging, just in case. Never have been able to receive wireless cameras, but have latched onto Amateur Radio transmissions. I got the pc interface that uses a USB port. Works like a champ.
 

cristisphoto

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
Messages
739
Still....

SO far I still like it though....
I think once you get the the hang of it then its a joy to have....
I do admit though, Icom or whomever, would be doing us all a HUGE favor if they introduced a second generation IC-R3

Also its about the antenna.
I plan to get a 2.4 gig antenna soon
and that should bring in Something..
And I don't think much folks in the Gov are going to be dumb/foolish enough to use a wireless
Now civilians, like businesses, homes ,etc
OH YEAHH that is what I am betting on..
lol
Crista
 

poltergeisty

Deep Thinker
Joined
May 7, 2004
Messages
3,808
Location
RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV
I C a deaf siganl.

Good luck with trying to receive wireless cameras with it. I own one myself and its very deaf at higher frequencies, you will need an amp preferably the one made by GRE. It has a BNC connector and holds a 9V battery.

I have a tiny camera that transmits on 1.2 GHZ @ 200 MW and I can pick that up throughout the house fairly well with no amp. I also want to add that the receiver that came with the chep little camera out performs the damn scanner.


To receive a camera transmission you will need to set it into the FTV mode when you are viewing a TV signal.

I would love to take this to a NASCAR event, but haven't yet. I think I would be able to receive their wireless camera feeds. I hope that the video is not feed through a wireless network.

You may also find that the secondary features are featureless. :lol: I can't stand trying to remember how to switch this and that and storing a sub code for one specific damn frequency.

LI-ion battery rocks with no TFT screen on. :)

BTW~ The "GOV' use burst video. :twisted: :lol: I think.
 
Last edited:

poltergeisty

Deep Thinker
Joined
May 7, 2004
Messages
3,808
Location
RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV
JESSERABBIT said:
The rumor has been that the video screen will go permanently black if the unit is used in the video mode while plugged into the charger
I ran it with the screen on and plugged in. The screen gets hot and will eventually turn off, which tells me its still using the battery.


Have to plug it in first and then turn it on. If its on and you plug it in the screen will shut off.
 

poltergeisty

Deep Thinker
Joined
May 7, 2004
Messages
3,808
Location
RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV
Oh, one more thing I forgot to mention.

The "government's" video transmission's contain subliminal messages in the VBI to confuse the would be hackers. :lol:

Comcast has VBI subliminal messages too. It's in the sub audio, however it's in a foreign language that only ones from corrupt governments can understand.
 

JESSERABBIT

Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
906
Location
Charles Town, Jefferson Co, WV
poltergeisty said:
I ran it with the screen on and plugged in. The screen gets hot and will eventually turn off, which tells me its still using the battery.


Have to plug it in first and then turn it on. If its on and you plug it in the screen will shut off.

Aha ! That explains what happens. Thanks for the info.
 

cristisphoto

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
Messages
739
That because....

poltergeisty said:
I ran it with the screen on and plugged in. The screen gets hot and will eventually turn off, which tells me its still using the battery.


Have to plug it in first and then turn it on. If its on and you plug it in the screen will shut off.
MAke sure your adapter is 1000 mah
The older shipped Ic-R3's came with a LESS rated adpater NOT powrful nough to power up the Radio.....:roll:

I blieved tte rating was like 600 mah:confused:
ANYWays
And yes thedesignes for US models are made to power off once the battery is low
SAys so in the manual

Crista
 

poltergeisty

Deep Thinker
Joined
May 7, 2004
Messages
3,808
Location
RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV
cristisphoto said:
MAke sure your adapter is 1000 mah
The older shipped Ic-R3's came with a LESS rated adpater NOT powrful nough to power up the Radio.....:roll:

I blieved tte rating was like 600 mah:confused:
ANYWays
And yes thedesignes for US models are made to power off once the battery is low
SAys so in the manual

Crista

Well how be a monkeys uncle. :lol:

I just went and looked at the adapter and thought it was 1000 MA. Its 500 MA.

So, I guess if I had more current the scanner could be solely supplied by the adapter?

I found out now that it will stay powered with no battery. It's just the video mode that will turn off. I can also turn on the TFT but once you select the video mode it shuts off. So it isn't getting enough current.

Hm, I think I try my old PSU from the comp.5V should be all right.


And all this time I was cursing the thing while I was trying to conduct surveillance while it was connected to my PVR. :lol:
 
Last edited:

cristisphoto

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
Messages
739
JesseRabbit ,Poltegeidty AlLL lol
No problem guys.. lol
Yeah I usually look over the web a trillion times too read about the stwuuf I may/May not buy...

And that one common complaint was the NOT powerful enough adapter...
Even the place where I bought mine thought my package would have the adapter the 500 or whatever
I got SOO lucky lol
I opened up the box and got to playing around with it
and what do ya know it powerd up whilst charging..
I thought I had goofed or something I looked at the Adapter
and SHO nough.....:lol:
Its 1000MAh
MMAAAN was I stoked lol:p
So yes The newer dhipped ones have packages the 1000 mah adpaters
It like with the Uniden BCD396T I was concerned about the Silkscreen issues,
But mine has never worn off AND its been like three months now...
So Newer is often better as the company USUALLY corrects the problems:cool:
Crista

PS
ALWAYS Yahoo,and Google BEFORE you buy whatever it is cauuuse,,
There is A LOT the Company won't always advertise that the owners learn the hard way about:roll:
 

cristisphoto

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
Messages
739
Lol

poltergeisty said:
"Poltegeidty" :lol:

"MMAAAN was I stoked"




Sowwy for the Typo on your name lol:roll:
I have Been in California too long
lololhehehehhelololo
Its likke Duuuude
wuz uuupp lol
Youever gone Surfin
It fuun !!
Really though Surfin ruuules....:lol:
If it wasn'tfor radios
I d be in the waves all day 24/7 lol
 

cristisphoto

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2004
Messages
739
Lol

poltergeisty said:
Now I understand, I use to live in Cali.
Someone FIANLLY inderstands me
awwww lololololololol:p

YEah Cali is freaky TO much so for my tastes lol
But surfin one can do BETTER in HA and east coasts
CAse Sufin ruulee baraoooo
lolol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top