ICOM IC-A220 Transceiver...anyone have one?

Status
Not open for further replies.

alcahuete

Premium Subscriber
Great to hear your credentials. I've been an FAA Manager for almost 15 years. :cool:

You're making my point for me. Light sport pilots do not need to use Part certified radios. In fact they aren't required to have a radio at all. That's why they can use the non-TSO version.

Icom did not originally design this radio to be used on board aircraft. Because is it being used outside of its intended use by sport pilots does not mean a thing.

alcahuete

Premium Subscriber
You're still conveniently not reading the 2nd sentence. It is not that it CAN be used as a ground-to-air transceiver, that's how it was designed and marketed by Icom. It was not designed, marketed, or intended by Icom to be used aboard normal aircraft.

N4GIX

Premium Subscriber
Okay, this is silly. Check out Chief Aircraft's listing for this series of radios:
Icom Base Station, Mobile and Air Transceivers - Chief Aircraft Inc.

1. is for mobile/base use $890
2. is for mobile/base with power supply $1,099.
3. is non-TSO'd version for aircraft panel mount $1,179.00
5. is the TSO'd version for aircraft panel mount $1,495.00

That is $316 strictly for TSO testing, paperwork, and recoup of certification costs.

If you were to open them up side-by-side and examine the components and schematics, they are 100% identical!

alcahuete

Premium Subscriber
100% correct. Icom eventually sought certification. However, when it was designed, it was not intended for airborne operation as a primary VHF transceiver, which helps explain why they designed it to the absolute minimum required specs.

krazybob