Icom R30 vs Uniden SDS100

Status
Not open for further replies.

payj

Premium Subscriber
Hello!

I know one is a receiver and one is a scanner. The icom being wide open for the most part while the Uniden more restricted?

I have capital to buy both, but not looking to waste money. I have read scanners are also more geared for listening to police / fire while the icom does not have these capabilities?

I am new to this hobby and trying to fully grasp the differences between the two. From what I found googling around is scanners and receivers compliment each other more than conflict with each other. I am hoping to better understand this.

Thank you!

belvdr

No longer interested in living
The R30 will scan, but only frequencies. The SDS100 is a trunking scanner, which adds the ability to scan trunked systems. I would investigate what you wish to listen to, and if there are any trunked systems, you'll need a trunking scanner.

W2GLD

Premium Subscriber
The R30 is a far better receiver by far; however, if you require the need for trunking and it’s a busy system, the Uniden is what you’ll need. For the money, the R30 is an excellent receiver and it can scan and decode a small trunking system as well but it cannot follow the individual Talkgroups like a scanner can; however, the R30 scans at 200-channels per second and works great if you program all the trunking site frequencies into a bank and scan that bank. Additionally, the R30 can decode P25, NXDN, D-Star, and dPMR right out of the box without the need for upgrade licenses that will set you back between $100-$150 additional with the Uniden and the R30 has broader range of frequency coverage and is all mode as well. A final thought, if you need NXDN and you need a radio to decode NXDN encryption, then the R30 can also do that, so long as the key is known.

belvdr

No longer interested in living
Also, the R30 does not do DMR. The NXDN, DMR, and ProVoice upgrade cost is $60 each for the SDS100.

TailGator911