• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Input vs Output Frequencies

Status
Not open for further replies.

txsrdking

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Messages
12
Location
Dallas, TX
#1
Maybe dumb question, but I'm trying to program Dallas County Skywarn frequencies in my scanner and in the RR database there are Input and Output frequencies listed. Which do I program? Is Output if I were "Transmitting"? Any thoughts? Thanks.
 

awd

Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2017
Messages
16
#3
"Input" refers to transmitting radios' traffic going "into" the repeater to be rebroadcast out; "output" means traffic that's coming out of the repeater going out to listening radios. So program the "output frequency" in to monitor on a scanner.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 2, 2005
Messages
1,913
Location
parma,ohio
#4
Which do I program? Is Output if I were "Transmitting"? Any thoughts? Thanks. (this to me maybe i read it wrong maybe wanting to program a radio just said to program a scanner?
 

txsrdking

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Messages
12
Location
Dallas, TX
#5
Thanks guys! Understand now. Do I program as AM, FM or NFM? Does 146.88000 have a PL code I shoud Program? Thanks in advance.
 

milf

Careful, I CAN hear you!
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
12,522
Location
Indianapolis, IN
#12
Input/output are referenced to the repeater. For a scanner you use output. For a real radio the receive frequency is output and transmit is input.
Correct, for your mobile or HT, the TX Freq is the RX Freq of the repeater except for in talkaround/direct mode. For a scanner, you program the TX Freq of the repeater unless you are monitoring the input or direct/talkarounds.
 

milf

Careful, I CAN hear you!
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 18, 2002
Messages
12,522
Location
Indianapolis, IN
#13
If you want to talk on the repeater you are going to need 110.9. For scanning tones not needed. Maybe your references are directed at scanning.
For the INPUT (RX) freq of the repeater there is an tone of 110.9 Hz CTCSS/PL. For the Output (TX) freq there is no tone AKA - CSQ.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
3,665
#14
Be aware that the Dallas Skywarn nets on 146.88 are all RACES nets and you'll need to provide your RACES number to join and participate on the net as an active member. Station locations are also reported using grid coordinates, not the typical addresses, cross streets, MAPSCO grids, or GPS coordinates. Previously they accepted most of these, but have changed the rules to provide better locations to the NWS. There was just too much confusion with things like "Was that North Marsh Lane, or South Marsh Lane" and since Mapsco changed up their grid system the confusion was "What year is your MAPSCO" or "are those new or old grid locations".

Much of what you'll need is on the Dallas County RACES web site (Dallas RACES). You'll need to submit your application to your specific area's radio officer and have that approved (the list of radio officers are on the web site). There are also various requirements that a spotter must have prior to joining, such as have a valid ham license, a 2 meter radio capable of operation on the net(s), been to a recent NWS Skywarn training class (Basic required, Advanced preferred) and must have been within the most recent two years, completed some specific FEMA training classes, and several others (they're listed in the Requirements section of the linked to above web site).

Also be aware that although the Dallas County net is on 146.88, there are also nets for various cities within Dallas County. Depending on the city and/or incident there may be nets on the city(s), main county on 146.88 or both. Also note that some repeaters may use a PL tone during normal operation and may turn the PL tone requirement off during a Skywarn net (you can leave your radio set to transmit the tone, but will need it programmed for no tone on receive to hear the net). This is to eliminate PL related issues for folks sending reports on the important Skywarn nets. Your radio officer can provide details on specific repeaters and the training nets are generally a great way to confirm that your radio is correctly programmed for net operation prior to an emergency situation.

One other suggestion is to read through the most recent copy of the "Cloud Cowboy" reference manual, which is the general reference for emergency operation nets in the Dallas County area. A link to this is on that web site.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top