• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Inside info

Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,371
Location
Dallas, TX
#3
Its a public safety device targeting fire / ems users who use them as pagers or monitor one channel.

We are the side users who want what the pager was not meant for. At least not yet.
Hopefully Unication is looking at making us scanner users a targeted market.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,752
Location
Colorado
#6
A vast majority of the users would have dedicated knob positions for individual channels much like an actual radio. This simplifies operation of the pager and doesn't require them to look at the screen and mess with buttons. Actual intended users would also likely be parked on their own dispatch and not scanning to minimize their chances of missing a call.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
263
Location
Columbus, OH
#7
Wouldn't Fire Service users benefit from a scan hold as well?
I believe they would benefit for sure. I can't think of any radio with scanning capabilities that you can't stop the scanning, or hold. My Motorola radios all have scan which you can turn on and off. I'm sure it's the same with Harris, Relm, Kenwood, and Icom. They are all professional radios like the Unication.
 

boatbod

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
1,513
Location
Talbot Co, MD
#8
It really depends how you program the radio, and whether you set up one tgid per knob position or multiple.

For our county there really is no need for a scan hold. Once the dispatch takes place we know which tgid is going to be used for tac communications.
 

TFrank615

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 6, 2017
Messages
67
Location
Springfield, Ohio
#11
In my Departments case, this may help us. We are dispatched on 2 talkgroups, however only one of those two talkgroups transmits tones, and the other is for unit to dispatch traffic. What screws some things up is even when dispatch is answering a unit, theyre still talking over both talkgroups and not just the unit to dispatch channel.
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,616
Location
Southeastern Michigan
#12
In my Departments case, this may help us. We are dispatched on 2 talkgroups, however only one of those two talkgroups transmits tones, and the other is for unit to dispatch traffic. What screws some things up is even when dispatch is answering a unit, theyre still talking over both talkgroups and not just the unit to dispatch channel.
Then one of two things would solve this.
1) Dispatch only talks on the dispatch TG when making the initial alert. All other comms are one the answer TG.
2) After being alerted, change the selector knob to the next position, which puts the answer TG as priority.

Sent using Tapatalk
 

TFrank615

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 6, 2017
Messages
67
Location
Springfield, Ohio
#14
Then one of two things would solve this.
1) Dispatch only talks on the dispatch TG when making the initial alert. All other comms are one the answer TG.
2) After being alerted, change the selector knob to the next position, which puts the answer TG as priority.

Sent using Tapatalk


That’s 100% to complicated for the midage and older guys to comprehend. Was trying to make it easier and all on one channel. Which I’ve figured out, it’s not the 100% best but it’s been working decently so far


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

tglendye

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 15, 2002
Messages
1,632
Location
Virginia
#16
It looks like I’m getting a G5. I’m in public safety and would love the a Hold option as well as an Avoid or Lockout. Just trying to learn the ins and outs now before it arrives.

Yet no one has given an answer to what other feature is to be sacrificed, to convert a button to being a hold. (Assuming it is possible, with a firmware change.)

Sent using Tapatalk
Can you program the buttons? Maybe have different programmable functions for a short press/ long press.
 

krokus

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
3,616
Location
Southeastern Michigan
#17
Can you program the buttons? Maybe have different programmable functions for a short press/ long press.
No, the functions are set by the company. I am not sure if they are hard coded in the unit, or part of the firmware. Either way, they are not selectable at the consumer level.

Sent using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
263
Location
Columbus, OH
#19
I didn't think of user programmable buttons, via CPS. That's an excellent idea and would enable more functions to be added; some of which may not be used by everyone, but used by many (such as hold, avoid, nuisance delete, etc.).
 
Top