• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Intercity

dpincins

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 28, 2015
Messages
23
Location
Glocester, RI
I have intercity programmed into two different scanners. One I use for 800mhz and the other for analog. Whenever I hear anyone go over intercity I always pick it up on my analog scanner, but not the 800. I have Police and Fire programmed in on channel 2 and 3 in the north zone. I can not think of any reason why I wouldn't be picking them up on the 800. Any Ideas?
 

ecps92

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
10,370
Location
Taxachusetts
Maybe they are not patched from the VHF to the 800 anymore or the patch was taken down for Temp Maint....

Also which Intercity are you asking about..... Fire or Police ??

I have intercity programmed into two different scanners. One I use for 800mhz and the other for analog. Whenever I hear anyone go over intercity I always pick it up on my analog scanner, but not the 800. I have Police and Fire programmed in on channel 2 and 3 in the north zone. I can not think of any reason why I wouldn't be picking them up on the 800. Any Ideas?
 

dpincins

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 28, 2015
Messages
23
Location
Glocester, RI
Maybe they are not patched from the VHF to the 800 anymore or the patch was taken down for Temp Maint....

Also which Intercity are you asking about..... Fire or Police ??
Both intercity PD and Fire aren't coming over 800 for me.
 

dpincins

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 28, 2015
Messages
23
Location
Glocester, RI
Maybe someone who is in the reception of RISCON can assist.
What Zone [North, South or Providence] are you using ??
I am using the north zone, which is the only one I can receive from my location. All other talkgroups seem to come in fine besides the intercity/wide area channels.
 

dpincins

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 28, 2015
Messages
23
Location
Glocester, RI
Last evening I went in and used the scanners database, found the intercity channels on the north zone and locked on. I then recorded and let it run through the evening while Johnston was working a hazmat and calling other towns on the channel. This morning I checked the recordings and discovered that it grabbed nothing. Is there anyone that can hear intercity (pd or fire) from the north zone? I can receive all other talk groups in the north zone without issue.
 

ecps92

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
10,370
Location
Taxachusetts
Since others have indicated the Intercity channels had been active, are you sure your radio is properly recording them ??

Seems that it is not a "Not hearing them issue" and now is a "Not properly recording"
Last evening I went in and used the scanners database, found the intercity channels on the north zone and locked on. I then recorded and let it run through the evening while Johnston was working a hazmat and calling other towns on the channel. This morning I checked the recordings and discovered that it grabbed nothing. Is there anyone that can hear intercity (pd or fire) from the north zone? I can receive all other talk groups in the north zone without issue.
 

dpincins

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 28, 2015
Messages
23
Location
Glocester, RI
Since others have indicated the Intercity channels had been active, are you sure your radio is properly recording them ??

Seems that it is not a "Not hearing them issue" and now is a "Not properly recording"
Radio was recording properly. It just wouldn't lock onto any of the intercity/mutual aid channels. I wiped everything out, created a new file and uploaded it to the scanner. Seems to be working. Thanks
 
Top