Is this thing working???

Status
Not open for further replies.

JEBariffic

Salivations!

Complete newbie here, with apologies if this has been covered.

Two weeks ago I purchased a Baofeng BF-F9V2+, a handheld, with the goals of:
- monitoring noaa and local police / fire during the occasional tornado warning
- communication in case of emergency while off-roading in our jeep
- getting a ham license to communicate with enthusiasts

I live in Thompsons Station, TN, 37179.

With an upgraded antenna, Nagoya NA-771, I'm able to get solid reception of NOAA out of Franklin, TN, about 7.5 miles away. However, that's all I'm able to receive. I've punched in all the amateur and agency frequencies in my area, have scanned both VHF and UHF, with no reception.

I'm assuming reception of NOAA proves the radio works. So, I'm wondering if perhaps I just live in an area that's not terribly lively? How would one know?

Perhaps this radio just isn't up to the task... I'm concerned that relying on it for emergency communications isn't realistic, and maybe CB might be a better choice?

I appreciate any insights on any of the above anyone might share. Thanks for your time!

bob550

Premium Subscriber
Welcome to the forum! This link, https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?ctid=2521#cid-1400, has all the information you'd need to program your radio. The big exception is that the town/city of Franklin is using P25 phase 1 digital, which your radio cannot receive. The system listed here: https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=6355, is a P25 phase 2 system, and also beyond the reach of your Baofeng. Start by programming in the "Williamson County" public safety frequencies, as they're all analog frequencies your radio can receive.

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
I'm concerned that relying on it for emergency communications isn't realistic, and maybe CB might be a better choice?

Until you have a license, there isn't anywhere you can legally use that radio to transmit, even in an emergency.