• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Keesler has EDACS???

Status
Not open for further replies.

nexus

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2002
Messages
1,646
Location
Mississippi
I noticed today in the Harrison DB that there is a new "Unknown FEDERAL EDACS" listed there and the notes mention that it might possibly be KAFB... Who found that one????

I'm curious to find out who it is. I do know that Stennis Space Center is down there on 400mhz and from time to time they're very strong around I-110 mobile. When I get off work I'm going to load them up in my portable and drive around the base and find out what I can hear.

http://www.radioreference.com/modules.php?name=TRSDB&sid=4709
 
Last edited:

nexus

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2002
Messages
1,646
Location
Mississippi
Update:

UPDATE:

I programmed the LCNs into my 246t this morning after getting off work, I work
1 block from Keelser, and even drove up to the main gate and parked. I never
heard a control channel. I scanned the entire band 400mhz to 415mhz and nothing.

So I don't know what the person who reported a new TRS at or near keesler heard,
unless it was atmospheric conditions, or perhaps they heard Stennis because they
are using the same band but its not edacs its motorola. So I dunno...
 

bassmkenk2508

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
517
Location
Murfreesboro, TN
it was me.

I was scanning the fed 406 band. I picked it up fine at one point and then had to rush home to get ready for work, so i didnt have time to really listen and have not had a chance to since then (06/09/2006).

I will have to go back and test it out again. it is EDACS and my pro-96 picks up the LCN-02 as "ctrl-02". I was on hwy 90 just west of the I-110 beach exit when i set it up and tracked it succesfully using just a vhf/uhf ham portable antenna in my car.

I guess it was a mistake to assume it was keesler, especially with the ducting occuring well.

Will search stuff in LA and AL in the DB to see if something else could have picked up.
 

bassmkenk2508

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
517
Location
Murfreesboro, TN
my mistake everyone...

I must have picked up the NASA assembly plant in Michoud, LA. WOW!

the talkgroups look familiar.

milf, if you could delete the submitted system that would be great.

i also picked it up at my house in Latimer/Vancleave.
 

nexus

Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2002
Messages
1,646
Location
Mississippi
hahah its cool, everyone makes mistakes. It threw me for a loop when I read that though, because Keesler uses nothing but Motorola, and APCO25 for pretty much everything now. I was thinking SSC but then I noticed the freqs didn't match, and besides they're motorola. So I went ah scanning outside gate 3. nodda...

yeah those band openings are something else.
 

bassmkenk2508

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
517
Location
Murfreesboro, TN
i didnt expect to pick up something so far away. but i learned from this that researching neighboring states is important if what i find seems to be a 'weak signal' locally, with all this ducting going on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top