• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

BCD536HP: latest Firmware

Status
Not open for further replies.

bucklebd

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Messages
13
Location
Lucasville, Ohio
#1
I am in Southern Ohio, (Gods Country) and listen to the MARC's system. I upgraded to the latest firmware yesterday and my scanner has not spoken a word since. Any suggestions?
 

phask

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,020
Location
KZZV - SE Ohio
#2
1st - Ohio's MARCS is dead. You want MARCS-IP. It will be renamed (probably) at some point.

You say Firmware - but did you update the database?

- also - which scanner?
 

bucklebd

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Messages
13
Location
Lucasville, Ohio
#3
Bcd436hp / bcd536hp

Yes, I did update both, Firmware and the database, everything down here is MARC's IP, as well as some conventional stuff. I am unable to pick up anything since I did the update.
 

phask

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
3,020
Location
KZZV - SE Ohio
#6
I presume you are using the full database and not a favorite list. (there is no such term used on Uniden as scan list).

Check your location (zipcode) and range. May have reset with firmware update. Also check service types.
 

DSC45

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
691
Location
Central Jersey
#7
Updated Firmware & Database

Hi!

Just a quick note on the subject, I updated both 436HP / 536HP scanners and both working well on the P25 phase 1 & 2 program, and NJ Smartzone.
 

bucklebd

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Messages
13
Location
Lucasville, Ohio
#8
OK, I had a file from back in Feb. that I had saved, I cleared the scanner, and loaded the old file, and now it is picking up everything in the area. Don't know what I did, but I hope I pay better attention next time. Thank you for the advice.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
4,112
Location
Anne Arundel County, MD
#9
More than likely the upload file had some radio parameters or settings in it that you or the upgrade knocked off. By reloading, you set them back to where they were when working. Still not sure if you are using favorites list or full database. You should be able to update both now without fear of knocking things off. Then I would give this updated file a save on your PC so the valued setting (whatever it was) is now stored as part of your updated files.

Sent from my LG-V410 using Tapatalk
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top