Longer antenna, worth it? If so, which?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrbugee

I'm kind of new to monitoring, so forgive this if its a rookie question. I have a Radio Shack Pro-97 that I use to monitor mostly aviation and local fire/police traffic (mostly in the 100 and 400 MHz range, I believe). I have the stock 5 1/2 in antenna. I live about 7 miles from out local airport and my scanner seems to be out of range for most of the ATC traffic. Is there a longer or more efficient antenna that will fit my portable that will increase my receiving range? I thought I saw a longer antenna for this model a while back at Radio Shack, but not sure if its applicable to my needs or even still available (no joy on Radio Shacks web site).

Thanks!!! - John, St. Louis

FLRAILMAN

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
RS PRO-97 antenna

I know a few portable scanner owners who share your problem, everybody has a favorite however the guys that replaced their stock antennas with the Austin Condor antenna all claimed positive results.
Austin Antenna, antennas
FLRAILMAN

kc2rgw

Premium Subscriber
I have a Condor and a Diamond RH-77B both of which I've had for years now. They significantly improve reception vs any of the stock antennas I've had on several scanners.

I prefer the RH-77B simply because it is skinnier and doesn't tip over the scanner as easily as the more dense Condor. I think the Condor has an edge on a few odd bands that I don't generally listen on, but it's very close.

More antenna is almost always better for reception. A telescopic whip, metal, is the best I've used of any...however be very careful of putting strain on your antenna connector on the scanner. It's very easy with those to bang into something and break or damage the connector as the better ones are 4-5' long. With my current scanner and ham HT's I use an SMA to BNC adapter to add some more protection to the SMA connector.

n5ims