Looking For A Base Antenna For 39.3 - 39.6 Range

Status
Not open for further replies.

951ryan

Feed Provider
Hey Guys,

Newbie here but been hosting live audio feeds for many years now. I'm struggling to pick up our local Highway Patrol on 39.680 with my discone antenna and would like to find something to give me my strongest chances at picking up the signal for me to stream to Broadcastify. Antenna sits on a 10ft pole on my 2nd story balance but its a somewhat hilly congested area. Would like to stay under $300 if possible on this one.

Any ideas?

Ubbe

If your discone have a top element you can try and replace that with a 1/4 wave element of 1.8 meter lenght, or 72 inches. You probably have to attach some non metallic guy wires to the top of that element as it would otherwise break the insert to the discone when the wind blows. My local hardware store have twice that long $10 aluminium rods that could be used so it should be pretty easy to find one and figure out have to attach it to the discone.

/Ubbe

NC1

Back in the days, in my old hometown, the FD and PD were both on VHF Lo like you are trying to receive. I know the frequencies were around 37 MHz and all the FD volunteers, along with off duty police used the old stainless steel 102" CB antenna. A few people cut them down a tiny bit to be on frequency but the rest just left it as-is and nobody could discern a receive difference between the two.

As far as the ground plane is concerned, I do not remember any specific style if any were even being used. I do recall a few people attached the coax braid to the metal mast and it worked just fine. You might want to try that first as a very effective alternative to messing with the discone.

K5MPH

Brownsville Texas,On The Border By The Sea.