Lower 48 Traveling Frequencies

Status
Not open for further replies.

bdwak

I am a trucker who operates in Alaska and western Canada. In Alaska I use the VHF-ATA frequencies under the shared license agreement. In Canada I use my modified Yaesu to listen and talk primarily on the Ladd frequencies. VHF radios are a real benefit to the trucking industry and can be critical in the safe operation of our business. Most of the drivers respect the protocol, if not always the licensing requirements of Amateur radio and keep their visiting to quiet frequencies.

My question is related to Amateur radio use in the lower 48. My wife and I take our "busman's holiday" by driving our motorhome out and touring the lower 48 in the winter. I'd like to mount the Yaesu in it to primarily monitor radio traffic and use it for traffic information, safely, and traveling info. I'm not into visiting on the radio and long ago quit CB because of the constant BS. Is there a place where I can find a list of frequencies generally used for traveling information? Also safety and Alert channels? Are these channels standardized throughout the states or do you find regional differences? I don't have a Ham license now but I'm going to try & find the time to take the test. If I occasionally use the radio for the reasons stated will I be prosecuted or left alone if I don't abuse it? Are there hot spots of enforcement? Being an Alaskan its hard to be 100% squeaky clean.

Thanks for any information and assistance provided.

wyShack

Premium Subscriber