• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

M5300 to ITA2000 Tone Remote cable pin-out

Status
Not open for further replies.

njtaz76

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
29
#1
Hello...

I am attempting to figure out the wiring to connect an M5300 (via 44-Pin option cable, using the DB25 connector) to an ITA2000 tone remote. I am attempting to connect this to a radio console.

After a few attempts at the wiring, I'm just lost I guess...

I have attached 2 PDFs, one for the M5300 wiring and one for the ITA user guide... any assistance as to which pins need to be tied together... thank you!
 

Attachments

njtaz76

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
29
#3
Yes! :) lol

TX and RX.... I really am not sure which pins need to match between the M5300 and ITA2000 Radio port interface...

Thank you :)
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
928
Location
Ontario
#4
Try this:

Harris Radio ITA2000
PTT Pin 21 PTT Pin 6
COR Pin 22 COR Pin 2
TX Audio Pin 11 Pin 12
RX Audio Pin 13 Pin 3
GND Pin 1 Pin 4
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
928
Location
Ontario
#6
Just know there is no fixed level output on the Harris radio so your receive level will depend on the volume control of the radio. You'll also need to make these programming changes.

1. Under External IO Options, Program External Mute, active high output 1.
2. Program Aux Input 1 for PTT.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
928
Location
Ontario
#7
You might be able to get a fixed discriminator output on pin 12 or 16 in which case you would put switch SW2-1 down instead of up on the ITA2000.
 

njtaz76

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
29
#8
Thank you VERY VERY VERY MUCH! I was just doing all the wiring and then realized I would likely have to change the programming some.. and I forgot my programming license fob at home today... but I will be doing the reprogramming tomorrow morning and see how it goes. THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!

Off the wall question.... you don't know of any information on getting the information displayed on the LCD of the radio to be fed over the serial or db25 cable, do you? I've called TAC and have gotten the run around... Thanks again for your help!!
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
928
Location
Ontario
#9
No I don't believe you can anything like that.

Thank you VERY VERY VERY MUCH! I was just doing all the wiring and then realized I would likely have to change the programming some.. and I forgot my programming license fob at home today... but I will be doing the reprogramming tomorrow morning and see how it goes. THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!

Off the wall question.... you don't know of any information on getting the information displayed on the LCD of the radio to be fed over the serial or db25 cable, do you? I've called TAC and have gotten the run around... Thanks again for your help!!
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2013
Messages
1,158
Location
Maryland Shore
#10
There is a way to get data from the radio via serial. Catalyst Communications has done it but the custom built the programming interface

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
 

njtaz76

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
29
#11
Hi Motomeso,

So I have gotten the radio to transmit audio out to the console via the ITA2000 ... I did have to jumper RX Audio Ground to Pin 4 on the ITA2000.

I am not able to get the radio to transmit though. I have doublechecked M5300 Pin 21 to ITA Pin 6, External IO is has Aux Input 1 to PTT, I put the jumper (JU2) on the ITA2000 to the A position and back to B. Nothing seems to be working, as the radio will not go into PTT mode.

Any other thoughts? I have to check the voltage output still from the ITA, as that will be my next step once I get a volt meter handy.

THANK YOU!


DisasterGuy, I know there is a way over the serial, and that's what I was trying to figure out. More of a fun project for me, but I cannot seem to figure out the command to activate it. Thanks :)
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
928
Location
Ontario
#12
Hi njtaz76,

When you PTT on your console do you see the PTT light come on the ITA2000? If you jumper pin 21 of the M5300 to ground does the radio PTT?
 

njtaz76

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
29
#13
I'm not even utilizing the console to TX ... using a mic attached to ITA2000.

Yes, when I jumper 21 to ground, it goes into TX mode..
 

njtaz76

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
29
#14
So, in testing:

with JU2 set to B on the ITA, it is always outputting 13v and when keys up, it drops to near 0. If I switch it to A, then its 0v and jumps to 13v.... but will not key up radio...
 

njtaz76

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
29
#15
I think I narrowed it down to a bad wire between the ITA and the radio DB25. I'll report back once I replace all of that. THANK YOU!
 

njtaz76

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
29
#16
Just an update, on Friday I have it mostly working except that I am not getting audio out yet to the radio. I'm going to check all that this morning and will send an update. THANKS AGAIN!!!!
 

njtaz76

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
29
#18
I ended up going with pin 24. Everything is working now. I will post my final pinout. I also had to ground the RX and TX audio. I am hoping it is the same on the XG-25M as I need to get that working next. :) I will test the cabling on there tomorrow. Thank you again !!
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
928
Location
Ontario
#19
Excellent! The ITA2000 is suppose to tie the TX & RX low to Pin 4 internally but I guess that wasn't the case. I'm glad you got it up and running.

I ended up going with pin 24. Everything is working now. I will post my final pinout. I also had to ground the RX and TX audio. I am hoping it is the same on the XG-25M as I need to get that working next. :) I will test the cabling on there tomorrow. Thank you again !!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top